ALA President Carla Hayden receives Ms. Woman of the Year award event photo gallery

Contact: Larra Clark

ALA Press Officer


For Immediate Release

December 8, 2003

ALA President Carla Hayden receives Ms. "Woman of the Year" award event photo gallery


ALA President Carla Hayden receives the 2003 Ms. Women of the Year Award from Katherine Spillar, executive vice president of the Feminist Majority Fund.


Cover of the
Ms. issue in which Hayden will be featured.


ALA President Carla Hayden speaking at the Ms. 2003 Women of the Year event at the National Press Club.


ALA President Carla Hayden with Congressman Elijah E. Cummings, 7th District, Maryland, and chair of the Congressional Black Caucus.


From left: Peg Yorkin, chair, Feminist Majority Foundation; Elaine Lafferty,
Ms. magazine editor-in-chief; Martha Burk, 2003 Ms. award honoree, and chair, National Council of Women's Organizations; Dr. C. Delores Tucker, founder, National Congress of Black Women; ALA President Carla Hayden; and Eleanor Smeal, president, Feminist Majority Foundation.

For more information about the ALA, please visit The ALA is the oldest, largest and most influential library association in the world with 65,000 members, who include primarily librarians and library workers, but also trustees, publishers and other library supporters.