ACRL Announces New Deadline for Several Awards

Contact: Megan Bielefeld

Program Coordinator

For Immediate Release

December 3, 2003

ACRL Announces New Deadline for Several Awards

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) has extended its December 5, 2003 nomination/application deadline for the ­­­­­­­­­­following award opportunities to December 12, 2003:

  • Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award

  • Excellencein Academic Libraries Awards

  • Hugh A. Atkinson Memorial Award

  • CJCLS Learning Resources Leadership Award

  • CJCLSLearning Resources Program Achievement Award

  • IS Publication Award

  • IS Innovation in Instruction Award

  • LPSS Marta Lange/CQ Award

  • Samuel Lazerow Fellowship

  • WSS Career Achievement Award

  • WSS Significant Achievement Award

These special recognitions enhance the sense of personal growth and accomplishment of ACRL members, provide membership with role models, and strengthen the image of membership in the eyes of employers, leadership, and the academic community as a whole. ACRL asks you to remember the significant achievements of those we've honored in the past and recognize the contributions of your peers with your nominations for the year 2004 awards.

Information on the ACRL awards program can be found on the ACRL Web site,, or by contacting Megan Bielefeld, ACRL Program Coordinator, at

ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing 12,000 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic librarians.
Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments.