Atkinson named ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year

Contact: Stephanie Sherrod


For Immediate Release

March 7, 2003

Atkinson named ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year

Ross Atkinson, associate university librarian for collections at the Cornell University Library in Ithaca, N.Y., is the 2003 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Academic/Research Librarian of the Year. The award, sponsored by YBP Library Services, recognizes an outstanding member of the library profession who has made a significant national or international contribution to academic/research librarianship and library development.

"Ross Atkinson is arguably the foremost thinker in collection management in libraries today, and his work is setting the standard for excellence," said Committee Chair Susan K. Nutter. "His scholarly writings have been transformative, and his influence is deep and far-reaching. He is prized as a contributor to discussions, and his articles are a must-read for all because he combines careful research with visionary and original thinking. Ross Atkinson is one of the real intellectual leaders in our profession."

"This is a wonderful honor, and I am so grateful to my colleagues who recommended me for it," said Atkinson. "Much of my work has been on theory, and I have always been keenly aware that a little theory can sometimes go a long way. I've always felt that the only real value of theory is to assist the reviewing and re-thinking of concrete practice. So, the best thing about this award is that it provides me with a very gratifying sense that at least some of that work has indeed been helpful and applicable to real services."

His body of scholarly and theoretical writing on collection management and scholarly communication are among the most influential and thought-provoking of all those appearing in this field.

In nominating Atkinson, his peers wrote, "His record of author of over 30 distinguished publications alone would qualify him for the Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award, but his service to the profession extends far beyond this."

Atkinson received his B.A. in German from the University of the Pacific in Stockton, Calif., in 1967. He went on to further study Germanic languages and literatures at Harvard University, earning a M.A. in 1969 and a Ph.D. in 1976.

Atkinson received his M.S. in Library Science from the Simmons College School of Library Science in 1977.

Atkinson will receive a $3,000 award and a citation at a ceremony and reception, Monday, June 23, 2003, at 4:30 p.m. during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Toronto. The reception is sponsored by YBP Library Services.

Previous award winners include Shelley Phipps, (2002); Larry Hardesty (2001); Sharon Hogan (2000); Hannelore Rader (1999); Allen B. Veaner (1998); James G. Neal (1997); Ralph Russell (1996); Joseph Boisse (1995); Irene Braden Hoadley (1994); William A. Moffett (1993); Carla Stoffle (1992); Richard DeGennaro (1991); and Patricia Battin (1990).

ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic librarians. ACRL's 12,000 members are comprised of individuals from a wide range of academic institutions, publishers and vendors who sell in the academic marketplace. ACRL enhances the effectiveness of academic and research librarians to advance learning, teaching and research in higher education. More information about ACRL's programs and services can be found on the
Web. ACRL is a division of the ALA.