2003 John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award winners announced

Contact: Arawa McClendon



ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

January 25, 2003

2003 John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award winners announced

Nine libraries are winners of the John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award, which recognizes and honors outstanding achievement in library public relations. This award, jointly sponsored by The H. W. Wilson Company, Bronx, N.Y., and the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has been awarded continuously since 1946.

"The quality of the applications received this year was exceptional, and all the entrants deserve praise for their wonderful public relations efforts," said Tim Wadham, award committee chair. "The winning entries represent imaginative and effective public relations campaigns that responded to real community needs and produced real results in terms of improving public awareness and use of libraries, their programs and collections. The John Cotton Dana Award is the most prestigious of all library awards in the public relations field and is important not only to the winning library, but also to the communities so positively impacted by these outstanding programs."

The 2003 awards will be presented to:

The Genesee District Library, (Flint, Mich.) for opening a 3,800 square foot demonstration location inside a busy shopping center to take their services to the people. Since their initial opening, this new location has averaged over 7,000 visitors per month and registered over 2,000 new cardholders.

Guernsey Memorial Library (Norwich, N.Y.), for a delightful celebration of the library's Centennial anniversary. The celebration focused on genealogy, local architecture and history, successfully creating a positive image for the community.

Halifax Regional Library (Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada), for its re-designed Summer Reading Program. With a skateboarding dog, Booker T. Beagle, and animal "Book Buddies" for younger children, the program creatively used a consistent graphic identity, a dynamic Web site and targeted marketing to reach the intended audience.

Julia Rogers Library, Goucher College (Baltimore, Md.), for the public relations program "25 Years of Jane Austen," designed to bring increased attention to this unique collection. The identification of strategies for the campaign, along with target audiences, was precise and comprehensive, ranging from a resident scholarship to digitizing the collection for access by a worldwide audience.

Library System of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, for its stimulating public awareness campaign promoting the Pennsylvania online world of electronic resources (POWER), which successfully enhanced local resources.

Las Vegas-Clark County Library District (Las Vegas), for its outstanding public relations campaign celebrating Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. Part of the library district's "Celebrate Cultural Diversity" initiative, the event attracted more than 6,000 people and generated positive media coverage.

Saint Paul (Minn.) Public Library and the Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library for a multi-faceted public awareness campaign to celebrate the re-opening of their newly renovated historic Central Library.

Sarasota County Library System (Sarasota, Fla.), for its successful program "Celebrate Freedom @ your library™" which refocused public attention on how libraries contribute to a free society. This program, developed in answer to the challenges posed by 9/11, helped to erase the doubts raised by that tragic event that were aimed at the very core of what libraries stand for-freedom of information and access for all.

Toronto Public Library, for an innovative performing arts lecture series and public relations program that contributed to the city's literary and cultural life while also enhancing the library's community profile.

Winning entries will be displayed at the John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award booth in the exhibit area during the 2003 ALA Annual Conference, June 19-25, in Toronto. Conference participants also will be able to view the winners Sunday, June 22, from 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. at the "Best of Show/Swap and Shop" program sponsored by LAMA.

Other members of the committee are Peter V. Deekle, Floyd C. Dickman, Alicia J. Estes, Theresa M. Fredericka, Judith A. Gibbons, Ruth Hooten, Marsha Iverson, Anne B. Prusha, Donna J. Skvarla and Marcia G. Schneider.