2003 Atkinson winner announced

Contact: Stephanie Orphan


For Immediate Release

April 28, 2003

2003 Atkinson winner announced

Wendy Pradt Lougee, university librarian and McKnight Presidential professor at the University of Minnesota, has been named the 2003 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award.
will receive $2,000 and a citation during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Toronto at the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) President’s Program on June 23, 2003 at 9:30 a.m.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management, and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

“Wendy Pradt Lougee embodies many of the essential characteristics most valued by librarians:
a commitment to information access, preservation of collections, and service to users, combined with a talent for collaboration. But, it is her ability to migrate these principles into the digital arena that makes her such an ideal recipient of the Atkinson Award,” said committee chair Janet Swan Hill. “Projects such as JSTOR, for which she served as principal investigator, and the University of Michigan’s Digital Library Program, which she headed during its pilot phase, have significantly changed the vision and direction of research libraries, by enhancing their ability to provide expanded access to information.”

The Hugh C. Atkinson Award is jointly sponsored by four divisions of ALA, including the Association of College and Research Libraries; the Library Administration and Management Association; the Library and Information Technology Association; and ALCTS.