PLA announces 2002 service award winners

Contact: Nicole Wheatley


For Immediate Release

March 2002

PLA announces 2002 service award winners

Winners of eight distinguished service awards have been announced by the Public Library Association (PLA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

PLA's Advancement of Literacy Award. The Advancement of Literacy Award was awarded to the Center for Literacy, Philadelphia. Sponsored by
Library Journal, the award is given to a publisher, bookseller, software dealer, foundation or similar group that has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of adult literacy.

Allie Beth Martin Award.Merle Jacob, director of Library Collection Development at the Chicago Public Library, received a $3,000 award donated by sponsor Baker & Taylor. This award recognizes a public librarian for demonstrating a range and depth of knowledge about books and other library materials and the distinguished ability to share that knowledge.

The Baker & Taylor Entertainment Audio Music/Video Product Award Grant went to the Signal Mountain (Tenn.) Public Library. This grant offers the selected library $2,500 in audio music and video products for its circulating collections.

Charlie Robinson Award has been awarded to Gary Strong, library director at the Queens Borough Public Library in Jamaica, N.Y. This award recognizes a public library director for implementation of innovative change.

Demco Creative Merchandising Grant was awarded to the Isaac F. Umberhine Public Library in Richmond, Maine. The grant, sponsored by Demco, Inc., provides a $1,000 award and $2,000 worth of supplies to a public library proposing a project for the creative display and merchandising of materials either in the library or in the community.

PLA Excellence in Small and/or Rural Public Library Service Award. The recipient of this award is the Wallow County Library in Enterprise, Ore. EBSCO Subscription Services donated $1,000 to honor a public library serving a population of 10,000 or fewer that demonstrates excellence in service to its community as exemplified by an overall service program or a special program of significant accomplishment.

The Highsmith Library Innovation Award was awarded to the Santa Fe Springs (Calif.) City Library. A plaque and a $2,000 honorarium are provided by Highsmith, Inc., the award's sponsor, to recognize a public library's innovative or creative service program to their community.

New Leaders Travel Grants were awarded to Jill Rourke, library director of the Saluda County Library in Saluda, S.C.; Katherine Clowers, branch manager at the Pamlico County Library in Bayboro, N.C.; Angela Meyer, library director at the Dodge Center (Minn.) Public Library; and Karen Yanetta, library director at Mendham (N.J.) Borough Library. GEAC Inc. donates up to $5,000 to support the professional development and improve the expertise of public librarians new to the field by making their attendance at major professional development activities possible.

PLA will recognize the award winners at the PLA President's Reception and Awards Presentation during the ALA's 2002 Annual Conference in Atlanta. The reception will take place on Monday, June 17, 2002, 5 - 7:30 p.m. at the 755 Club at Turner Field, 755 Hank Aaron Drive. Toni A. Garvey, PLA President, will preside. For more information, call the PLA office, 800-545-2433, ext. 5PLA, or see
PLA's web site.