Nominations sought for 2003 ASCLA awards and scholarship

Contact: Eileen Hardy


For Immediate Release

July 31, 2002

Nominations sought for 2003 ASCLA awards and scholarship

Nominations are being accepted for the 2003 Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) awards and scholarship.
The application deadline for awards is December 15, 2002; the scholarship deadline is March 1, 2003.

  • ASCLA Exceptional Service Award

    A citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients, to the homebound, to medical, nursing, and other professional staff in hospitals, and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity and significant research of experimental projects.
  • ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award

    A citation presented to recognize leadership and achievement in the following areas of activity: consulting, multitype library cooperation, and state library development. The award recognizes sustained activity that has been characterized by professional growth and effectiveness, and has enhanced the status of these areas of activity.
  • ASCLA Professional Achievement Award

    A citation presented to one or more ASCLA members for professional achievement within the areas of consulting, networking, statewide service and programs. The criteria include: record of accomplishment in the development or promotion of statewide library services and programs or services and programs of multitype library organizations; contributions which improve and enhance the status of state library agencies or multitype library organizations; evidence of initiative in dealing with issues and challenges facing state library agencies or multitype library organizations.
  • ASCLA Service Award

    A citation presented to recognize an ASCLA personal member for outstanding service and leadership to the division. The award recognizes sustained leadership and exceptional service through participation in activities which have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of ASCLA; and representation of ASCLA to other appropriate organizations, institutions, or governmental agencies.
  • ASCLA/National Organization on Disability Award

    A $1,000 award and certificate is given to alibrary organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project which successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities. The award can be for a specific service(s) program or for a library that has made their total services more accessible through changing physical and/or attitudinal barriers. Donated by AETNA U.S. Healthcare (formerly donated by the J.C. Penney Company) through the National Organization on Disability.
  • Francis Joseph Campbell Award An award consisting of a citation and a medal presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance. Administered by the Libraries Serving Special Populations Section. Committee chair is Ruth J. Nussbaum, (202) 707-9286, fax: (202) 707-0712, e-mail:

Visit the ASCLA Web site for more information about the awards and a list of previous recipients at the
awards site or contact Eileen Hardy at the ASCLA Office, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4398 or (312) 280-4398. The chair of the ASCLA Awards Committee is Jim Kirks, 530/934-2173, fax: 530/934-7156, e-mail:

  • Century Scholarship

    Scholarships up to a total of $2,500 will fund services or accommodation for a library school student or students with disabilities admitted to an ALA-accredited library school. The scholarship will fund services or accommodations that are either not provided by law or otherwise by the university that will enable the student or students to successfully complete the course of study for a master's or doctorate in library science and become a library or information studies professional.

Applicants must provide medical documentation of their disability or disabilities, services, or accommodations and/or services the applicant would need for their studies, demonstrate the need for financial assistance and be a citizen of the United States or Canada.

The scholarship is administered by the Century Scholarship Jury Committee. The Committee chair is Elizabeth Ann Ridler, (718) 435-9431, fax: (718) 435-9491, e-mail: Visit the ASCLA Century Scholarship
website for more information and an application form.