Nominations sought for 2003 RUSA awards

Contact: Eileen Hardy


For Immediate Release

September 2002

Nominations sought for 2003 RUSA awards

Nominations are being accepted for the 2003 Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) awards. The application deadline is December 15, 2002. Visit the RUSA Web site for more information and a list of previous recipients:, or contact Eileen Hardy at the RUSA Office, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4398, or (312) 280-4398. The chair of the RUSA Awards Coordinating Committee is Caroline Long, (202) 994-1317, fax: (202) 463-6205, Nominations for the individual awards are sent directly to the chair of that award committee.

The annual awards are: The Bessie Boehm Moore-Thorndike Press Award is an annual award consisting of $1,000 and a citation donated by Thorndike Press, is presented to a library organization that has developed an outstanding and creative program for library service to the aging. Committee chair is JoAnn Radioli, 718/376-6185, fax: 718/376-3222, e-mail:

The BRASS Thomson Financial Student Travel Award, $1,000 donated by Thomson Financial Corporation, enables a student with an interest in a career as a business reference librarian to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Committee chair is Sharmon Kenyon, 707/826-3441, fax: 707/826-3440, e-mail:

The Virginia Boucher- OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award, is an annual award consisting of $2,000 and a citation donated by OCLC, recognizing a librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through publication, during the previous two years, of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries. Committee chair is Franca Cerulli-Rosen, 303/275-2223, fax: 303/275-2225, e-mail:

The Dartmouth Medal, donated by Dartmouth College in Hanover, N.H., is presented to honor achievement in creating reference works outstanding in quality and significance. It is normally given for works published, or otherwise made available, during the calendar year preceding the award. Honorable Mention certificates are also awarded. Committee chair is Teresa Portilla Omidsalar, 323/343-3996, fax: 323/343-5600, e-mail:

Dun & Bradstreet Award for Outstanding Service to Minority Business Communities, is an annual award of $2,000 (up to half of which can be used to cover expense of attending ALA Annual Conference to receive award) and a citation donated by Dun & Bradstreet, recognizing a business librarian or library that has created an innovative service for a minority business community, or has been recognized by that community as an outstanding service provider. "Minority business" is defined as Hispanics, African Americans, Asians, Native Americans, or People from the Indian Subcontinent, as classified by the U. S. Government for minority-owned businesses. The award will be based on the library or librarian's impact on the community. Committee chair is Cynthia Churchwell, 617/495-6533, fax: 617/496-3811,

Dun & Bradstreet Public Librarian Support Award, is an annual award of $1,000 and a citation donated by Dun & Bradstreet, to support the attendance at Annual Conference of a public librarian who has performed outstanding business reference service and who requires financial assistance to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Candidates must be members of the American Library Association. If not a RUSA/BRASS member, the recipient must join RUSA/BRASS upon being selected to receive the award. The recipient shall have a demonstrated interest in pursuing a career as a business reference librarian and the potential to be a leader in the profession. Committee chair is Susan Wolf Neilson, 919/515-5699, fax: 919/515-8264, e-mail:

The Gale Group Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship (BRASS), $3,000 and a citation donated by The Gale Group, is given to an individual who has distinguished himself or herself in the field of business librarianship. Committee chair is Patricia Kenly, 404/894-1389, fax: 404/894-3005, e-mail:

The Gale Group Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Services, $3,000 and a citation donated by The Gale Group, is presented to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique library resource to meet patrons' needs. Committee chair is Betty Gard, 701/777-4632 , fax: 701/777-3319, e-mail:

The Genealogical Publishing Company/RUSA History Section Award, $1,500 and a citation donated by The Genealogical Publishing Company, recognizes and commends professional achievement in historical, reference and research librarianship. Committee chair is Raymond Wright, III, 801/422-2424, fax: 801/422-5980, e-mail:

The Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award, a citation, is given to a librarian who has made significant contributions to, and had an impact on, library adult services. Committee chair is Eugenia D. Bryant, 847/965-4220, fax: 847/965-7903, e-mail:

The Isadore Gilbert Mudge-R. R. Bowker Award, $5,000 and a citation donated by R. R. Bowker, is given to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. Committee chair is Richard Bleiler, 806/486-1246, fax: 860/486-6100, e-mail:

The Reference Service Press Award, $2,500 and a plaque donated by Reference Service Press, Inc., recognizes the author of the most outstanding article published in Reference and User Services Quarterly, RUSA's official journal, during the preceding two volume years. Committee chair is Lynn Chmelir, 509/335-8139, fax: 509/335-1889, e-mail:

The John Sessions Memorial Award, a plaque, recognizes the efforts of a library or library system to work with the labor community. Committee chair is Harriet Helen Gottfried, 212/340-0895, fax: 212/689-3193, e-mail:

The Louis Shores-Greenwood Publishing Group Award, $3,000 and a citation donated by Greenwood Publishing Group, is given to an individual, team or an organization to recognize excellence in the reviewing of books and other materials for libraries. Committee chair is Pamela Harris, 610/690-2056, fax: 610/328-7329, e-mail: