LITA/Gaylord award nominations sought

Contact: Tel Aviv V. Barbee


For Immediate Release

October 2002

LITA/Gaylord award nominations sought

Nominations are invited for the 2003
LITA/Gaylord Award for Achievement in Library and Information Technology. Sponsored by the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and Gaylord Information Systems, the award includes a citation of merit and a $1,000 stipend provided by Gaylord.
The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2002.

The award will be given to a practicing or retired librarian, or a small group of librarians working in collaboration, to recognize distinguished achievement for the creative use of information technology. The award may be made in recognition of distinguished leadership, notable development of applications of technology, superior accomplishment in research or education, or original contribution to literature in the field. Organized institutions or parts of organized institutions as such are ineligible for the award.

Currently serving officers and elected officials of LITA, members of the LITA/Gaylord Award Committee, and Gaylord employees and their immediate family members are ineligible.

Nominations may be made by any member of the ALA, including members of the Award Committee. Please send nominations to Diana Joy Davis, LITA/Gaylord Award Committee Chair, CSU Fullerton, Reference/Pollak Library, P.O. Box 4150, Fullerton, CA 92834-4150.

The award will be presented at the LITA President's Program during the 2003 ALA Annual Conference in Toronto.