Carla J. Stoffle named Futas winner

Contact: Cheryl Malden


For Immediate Release

April 17, 2002

Carla J. Stoffle named Futas winner

Carla J. Stoffle is the 2002 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award.

The $1,000 award and citation, donated by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund, recognizes and honors a librarian who invests time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship.

Stoffle, dean of libraries, University of Arizona, has provided the leadership to place the University of Arizona Library at the vanguard in organization design, information advocacy, information literacy, faculty partnerships and diversity. She is a teacher, motivator, fund raiser, change agent, and promotes diversity in the profession.

Throughout her professional career she has worked to bring about change in her library organizations and other library organizations. Stoffle is an active member of the ALA and served as ALA Treasurer from 1988-1992. She also is an active member of Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the ALA, and was ACRL president from1982-83; a member of Association of Research Libraries; and she was a founding member of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC).

A published author, she has written numerous articles and chapters in books, along with serving on panels and presenting workshops. Stoffle has received numerous honors including the ACRL Academic Library Excellence Award; Arizona Librarian of the Year; Martin Luther King Distinguished Leadership Award; Award for Faculty Excellence; Arizona Educational Media Association President's Award; An Outstanding Woman of 1992, a Woman on the Move Award; and the Miriam Dudley Bibliographic Instruction Award.

"Jury members were impressed with the significant difference Carla has made in the profession of librarianship," said Chair Charles Kratz. "She is truly a catalyst for positive change."

Stoffle has completed course work for a Ph.D; has a M.S.L.S. from the University of Kentucky and a B.A. from the University of Colorado.

The Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award will be presented on Tuesday, June 18, during the ALA Annual Conference in Atlanta.