Baker & Taylor Scholarship grants announced

Contact: Nichole Gilbert


For Immediate Release

April 2002

Baker & Taylor Scholarship grants announced

The Division and Membership Promotion Committee of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is proud to announce that Linette Ivanovitch and Julie Halpern have won the Baker & Taylor Scholarship Grants for 2002. Each will receive a $1,000 grant to attend the ALA Annual Conference in Atlanta this summer.

The Baker & Taylor Scholarship is awarded for first time attendance at an Annual Conference. The recipients must be members of YALSA and must have between one and ten years experience working with teenagers. Applications are available through the
YALSA Web site and are due
December 1, 2002, for the following year's Annual Conference.

Halpern is a librarian at the Francis W. Parker School in Chicago. Julie has created innovative programs for getting students engaged in reading. She is excited about interacting with other young adult librarians "in person" and says that her Comic Book Club students are thrilled that she will be attending the Getting Graphic @ your library preconference in Atlanta.

Ivanovitch is a young adult librarian at Missoula (Mont.) Public Library. Along with her many activities, Linette works with three group homes that bring at-risk teens to the library weekly for educational and recreational library use. Linette looks forward to attending the Annual Conference so that she can network with colleagues and share her new "insights and information" with other librarians in her state.

The YALSA Division and Membership Promotion Committee members are: Erminia M. Gallo, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Cleveland; Doris S. Baron, St. Martin's Episcopal School, New Orleans; Jerene D. Battisti, Renton Public Library, Renton, Wash.; Laura M. Bockwich, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland; Molly M. Collins, Irondequoit Public Library, Rochester, N.Y.; Roxy Ekstrom, Schaumburg Township District Library, Schaumburg, Ill.; Dora Ho, Los Angeles Public Library; Sarajo Wentling, Hennepin County Library, Minnetonka, Minn.