Ann K. Symons receives 2002 Lippincott Award

Contact: Cheryl Malden


For Immediate Release

April 2002

Ann K. Symons receives 2002 Lippincott Award

Ann K. Symons is the 2002 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Lippincott Award, which recognizes an individual for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship. The award consists of a citation and $1,000 was founded by the late Joseph W. Lippincott and now donated by his son, Joseph W. Lippincott, Jr.

Now working as a library consultant, Symons served as ALA President in 1998-1999. She also has served on ALA Council, was elected to the ALA Executive Board as Treasurer, and is active on state, national, and international levels. She currently serves on the Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Directors and the Exhibits Round Table Board and chairs both the ALA Conference Committee and the ALA Scholarship Bash.

"Symons has continually sought ways to serve her students, her colleagues and her peers," said Chair Winston Tabb. "Her vision to expand the ALA Scholarship program and build a culturally diverse pool of library leaders made the first-ever Scholarship Bash in New Orleans possible."

Symons has received numerous honors including the ALA Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award, Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award, American Association of School Librarians (AASL)/SIRS Intellectual Freedom Award and President Leadership Award, AASL/Alaska. AASL is a division of the ALA.

Along with her ALA activities, she is active in International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) and the Alaska Library Association, serving on their Executive Board as a member and Treasurer.

"Her leadership ability, her incomparable communication skills, her financial acumen, and her commitment to intellectual freedom have impressed all who have worked with Ann and serve as a model for librarians in the 21st century," Tabb added.

Symons has an M.L.S. from the University of Oregon, a C.A.S. from the University of Denver and a B.A. from the University of California.

The Lippincott Award will be presented Tuesday, June 18, at the ALA Awards Reception during the association's Annual Conference in Atlanta.