ACRL's 2003 awards program recognizes outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

Contact: Stephanie Sherrod


For Immediate Release

August 27, 2002

ACRL's 2003 awards program recognizes outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

For more than three quarters of a century, the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) has been committed to celebrating the achievements of deserving academic and research librarians through the presentation of awards, grants and fellowships. Every year ACRL extends recognition and honor to the winners of its awards. With almost $30,000 donated by generous corporate sponsors annually, ACRL has and will continue to nominate, select and honor the very best in academic librarianship.

ACRL members are an integral part of our successful awards program. Please consider those who have influenced your thinking and your growth as an academic librarian. We urge you to nominate colleagues whose work you admire, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Your nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished.

Informational flyers, complete with submission procedures, past winners, criteria and contact information, are available through the ACRL office. Flyers also can be found by visiting the ACRL
Web site.

December 6, 2002, is the deadline for most of the awards to be presented in 2003. A brief description of each award is listed below.

Achievement and Distinguished Service Awards

  • Excellence in Academic Libraries Award (sponsored by Blackwell's Book Services): $3,000 award for three awards; one in each type-of-library. Recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of their institutions.
  • Academic or Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by Yankee Book Peddler): $3,000 award. Recognizes an outstanding member of the academic or research library profession.
  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA), Library and Information Technology Association (LITA): $2,000 award. Recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, or development and research.
  • Marta Lange/CQ Award (sponsored by Congressional Quarterly, Inc.): $1,000 award. Recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.
  • Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (sponsored by Elsevier Science, Ltd.): $1,000 award. Recognizes an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.
  • Instruction Section Innovation in Instruction Award (sponsored by Congressional Information Service): $3,000 award for librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities.
  • Community College Learning Resources Leadership/Library Achievement Awards (sponsored by EBSCO Subscription Services): $500 for each of two awards recognizing outstanding achievement in library programs or leadership.
  • Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award: Citation.Honors outstanding contributions to education and behavioral sciences librarianship through accomplishments and service to the profession.
  • Women's Studies Section Awards for Achievement sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc. and Routledge): $1,000 for each of two awards recognizing career or significant achievements in the area of women's studies librarianship.

Research Awards/Grants

  • Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (sponsored by Institute for Scientific Information): $1,500 to assist doctoral students in the field with their dissertation research.
  • Samuel Lazerow Fellowship (sponsored by Institute for Scientific Information): $1,000 cash for travel and writing in the fields of acquisition or technical services.
  • Coutts Nijhoff West European Specialist Study Grant (sponsored by Coutts Nijhoff International): Grant that supports research pertaining to Western European studies, librarianship, or the book trade.


  • Katherine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by Katherine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab, American Book Prices Current): Recognizes outstanding catalogues published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions.
  • K. G. Saur Award for Best Article in
    College & Research Libraries (C&RL)
    (sponsored by R. R. Bowker/K. G. Saur): $500 award for the most outstanding article published in C & RL during the preceding volume year.
  • Instruction Section Publication of the Year Award. Recognizes an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the last two years.
  • The Oberly Award. This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

If you would like more information about the ACRL 2003 Awards Program, visit our Web page, or contact ACRL Program Coordinator Stephanie Sherrod, at 1-800-545-2433 ext.2515, email: We welcome your nominations and look forward to celebrating achievements in academic librarianship in 2003.

ACRL, ALCTS, LAMA and LITA are divisions of the American Library Association.