AASL presents 2002 Scholarship winners

Contact: Keidra Chaney


For Immediate Release

June 2002

AASL presents 2002 Scholarship winners

The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) is pleased to announce the 2002 recipient of the School Librarians Workshop Scholarship. Susan McQuaid of Montague, Md., has been selected to receive a $3,000 scholarship, sponsored by Library Learning Resources.

The scholarship is awarded to a student preparing to become a school library media specialist at the preschool, elementary or secondary level. McQuaid, who has been an elementary teacher for the past 25 years, is a student at the Graduate School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Rhode Island.

"I am touched by the tremendous support I have encountered for my new career choice and wish to thank the committee for selecting my application from the many equally worthy candidates who sought financial support for their studies," said McQuaid. "I hope that I can return the favor by encouraging and mentoring new librarians in the future."

The scholarship will be presented during a ceremony and luncheon to be held Monday, June 17, at the 2002 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Atlanta. Invited to speak at the event are acclaimed author/illustrator team Brian Selznick and Pam Muñoz Ryan, sponsored by Scholastic. Selznick is a 2002 Caldecott Honor winner for "The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins" and Ryan is the 2002 Pure Belpré Award Winner for "Esperanza Rising." Selznick and Ryan collaborated on the ALA Notable Children's Book "Amelia and Eleanor Go For a Ride" and have just completed a new collaboration, "When Marion Sang," a picture biography of Marian Anderson.

For more information on the event, please contact the AASL office at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4381.

AASL is a division of ALA. AASL promotes the improvement and extension of library media services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library media field.