$54,000 in AASL awards, grants and scholarships available in 2003

Contact: Keidra Chaney


For Immediate Release

October 2002

$54,000 in AASL awards, grants and scholarships available in 2003

Applications are now available for the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) 2003 awards, grants and scholarship program, totaling up to $54,000. Winners will be announced during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Toronto, June 19-25, 2003.
The deadline for applications and nominations is February 3, 2003, unless otherwise stated.

  • The AASL Collaborative School Library Media Award, sponsored by Sagebrush Corporation, recognizes and encourages collaboration in curriculum development between school library media specialists and teachers.
  • AASL/Highsmith Research Grant, donated by Highsmith Inc., is awarded to conduct innovative research aimed at measuring and evaluating the impact of school library media programs on learning and education.
  • The
    ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant, sponsored by ABC-CLIO, awards school library media associations that also are AASL affiliates, for planning and implementation of leadership programming at the local, state or regional level.
  • The
    Distinguished School Administrators Award, sponsored by SIRS Publishing, is presented to a school administrator who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library media center.
  • The
    Intellectual Freedom Award, also sponsored by SIRS Publishing, honors an individual who has upheld the principles of intellectual freedom.
  • The
    Distinguished Service Award, donated by Baker & Taylor Books, recognizes a librarian who has made an outstanding contribution to school librarianship and school library development.
  • The Frances Henne Award, donated by the Greenwood Publishing Group, is presented to a school library media specialist with five or less years in the library profession to attend an AASL National Conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.
  • The
    Information Technology Pathfinder Award recognizes school library media specialists with innovative approaches to information technology in the school library media center. The award, donated by the Follett Software Company, is given in two categories - elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12).
  • Now in its 40th year, the
    National School Library Media Program of the Year Award, donated by Follett Library Resources, was increased to $30,000 ($10,000 in three categories--large school district, small school district and single school).
    Application deadline is January 3, 2003.
  • The School Librarian's Workshop Scholarship was increased to $3,000 by Library Learning Resources and is awarded to a full-time student preparing for a career as a school library media professional.
    Application deadline is March 3, 2003.

Applicants and nominators for all awards, except the School Librarian's Workshop Scholarship, must be AASL personal members. Detailed information on AASL awards, including past winners and electronic versions of applications, are available at
AASL's Award page. All applications can be requested from: AASL Awards Program, 50 E. Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611 or 800-545-2433, ext. 4383.

AASL is a division of ALA. AASL promotes the improvement and extension of library media services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library media field.