2002 LITA/Gaylord Award winner announced

Contact: Mary Taylor



For Immediate Release

May 21, 2002

2002 LITA/Gaylord Award winner announced

Sally McCallum has been named winner of the 2002 Library and Information Technology Association (LITA)/Gaylord Award for Achievement in Library and Information Technology. McCallum is chief of the Network Development and MARC Standards Office (NDMSO) at the Library of Congress (LC).

Sponsored by Gaylord Information Systems and LITA, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), the award recognizes outstanding achievement in the creative use of information technology for improving or enhancing library services. It consists of a $1,000 stipend donated by Gaylord and a citation of merit.

"Sally McCallum's contributions to library standards development are extensive and as such difficult to capture succinctly," stated Chair Rebecca Graham. "But there are two complimentary areas that stood out in her consideration for this award. First has been the underlying focus on enhancing access and promoting interoperability and second is the related efforts to promote their use both nationally and internationally."

McCallum has worked at LC for more than 25 years and has worked as assistant to the director for Processing Systems, Networks and Automation Planning. To many in the library profession her name has become synonymous with MARC format developments.

"Due to her perseverance, the United States standard for information retrieval (Z39.50) was advanced and approved as an international standard giving us a global standard to link library collections," said Executive Director of NISO Pat Harris.

As library technology has evolved so has McCallum's focus as reflected in her more recent involvement in the development of metadata standards including Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI), Encoded Archival Description (EAD) Document Type Definition (DTD), and the new Metadata Encoding and Transfer Schema (METS).

The award will be presented during the LITA President's Program, Monday, June 17, 2002, at the ALA Annual Conference in Atlanta.