2002 ASCLA Century Scholarship recipient named

Contact: Eileen Hardy


For Immediate Release

June 2002

2002 ASCLA Century Scholarship recipient named

Christine Anne Baynes, Minneapolis, is the 2002 recipient of the Century Scholarship presented by the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA.) Baynes has been accepted to the masters in library and information sciences program at the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee.

The independently funded Century Scholarship is a diversity initiative aimed at promoting the ALA mission of improving service at the local level through the development of a representative workforce that reflects the communities served by all libraries in the new millennium. The Century Scholarship is a $2,500 monetary award given annually to a student or students pursuing a degree in library and information science.

"We look forward to awarding the third Century Scholarship to Christine Baynes, who as a successful library instructor, will be an exemplary role model to encourage individuals with disabilities to become librarians. Baynes, who has a learning disability, teaches library skills to diverse patrons in two urban college libraries where she fills patrons' unique information needs and enriches her own knowledge of special learning requirements through dialogue with them," stated Elizabeth Ridler, Century Scholarship Jury Committee Chair.

Ellen Perlow, chair of the Century Scholarship Committee stated, "Christine Baynes, our 2002 Century Scholar, as well as past Century recipients, Rebecca Van Scyoc and Simon Healey, already are the greatest of assets to and ambassadors for, our LIS profession. Our Century Scholars are the finest examples of how people who represent the universal diversity of doing things differently achieve and succeed. Please join us in continuing to promote, strengthen and expand the Century Scholarship Diversity Recruitment Initiative, so that our profession reflects the diversity of the communities LIS professionals serve."

The award will be presented June 16, 2002, from 8:30 to 11 a.m., at the ASCLA President's Program and Award Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference in Atlanta.