LITA announces scholarship winners for 2001

Contact: Valerie Edmonds-Merritt


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

July 2001

LITA announces scholarship winners for 2001

The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is pleased to announce the winners of four scholarships for master's level study at a library school accredited by the ALA. The winners were chosen from seventy applicants.

  • The winner of the $3,000 LITA/Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by, is Ohla Olekandrivna Buchel. Buchel attends the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.
  • Marla Peppers is the winner of the LITA/Library Systems and Services (LSSI) Minority Scholarship, sponsored by LSSI. Peppers will receive a $2,500 scholarship. She plans to attend San Jose (Calif.) State University.
  • Marisa Duarte is the winner of the LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, sponsored by OCLC, Inc. She will use the $2,500 scholarship to pursue her studies at Catholic University in Washington, D.C.
  • Farah Gheriss, winner of the LITA/Geac Scholarship, also received $2,500 to study at Catholic University. The scholarship is sponsored by Geac.

The scholarships are designed to encourage the entry of qualified persons into the library technology and/or automation field.

Criteria for the scholarships include previous academic excellence, evidence of leadership potential and a commitment to a career in library automation and information technology. Two of the scholarships, the LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship and the LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship, also require U.S. citizenship and membership in one of four minority groups: American Indian or Alaskan Native, Asian or Pacific Islander, African-American or Hispanic.

The scholarship winners were honored at the LITA President's Program during the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, June 18, 2001.