LAMA awards two Cultural Diversity Grants

Contact: Arawa McClendon


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

June 2001

LAMA awards two Cultural Diversity Grants

The Richland County Public Library, Columbia, S.C., and the Oklahoma Library Association are the recipients of the 2001 Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA) Cultural Diversity Grant.

"We plan to use the grant for "Dia de la Familia en la Biblioteca," a one-half day program that extends library services to a largely unserved segment of the community by inviting Hispanic/Latino newcomers to the library," Charletta Felder, reference librarian, Richland County Public Library said.

"The grant will be used to offer scholarships to people of color, who work in a library or are students at a library and information science school, to attend the Oklahoma Library Association state conference, April 19-22, 2002," Kay Boies, executive director of the Oklahoma Library Association said.

Awards of up to $1,000 may be made annually. The LAMA Cultural Diversity Grant program was established to support the creation and dissemination of resources that will:

  • assist library administrators and managers in developing a vision and commitment to diversity, and in fostering and sustaining diversity throughout their institutions;
  • increase the representation and advancement of people of color in the field of library administration and management and to establish productive partnerships between LAMA and major national organizations representing minority interests;
  • strengthen the diversity of LAMA membership, committees and officers, and integrate diversity into all aspects of the association's work.

Information on the LAMA Cultural Diversity Grant Program may be obtained from Executive Director, LAMA, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611, or accessed through the LAMA home page at
The deadline for the next award is December 1.

Contributions to the grant fund may be sent to: LAMA Cultural Diversity Fund, ALA, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611.

The awards will be presented Sunday, June 17, 2 p.m., at the LAMA President's Program during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference June 14-20, in San Francisco.

LAMA is a division of the ALA.