Freedman seeks 2002-2003 ALA presidency

Contact: Elizabeth Dreazen

(312) 280-3203

ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

December 2000

Freedman seeks 2002-2003 ALA presidency

Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman, director of the Westchester (N.Y.) Library System, is a candidate for the 2002-2003 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA). The other announced candidates are Ken Haycock, professor and director at the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, and William W. Sannwald, assistant to the city manager, library design and development for the city of San Diego.

A five-term member of the ALA Council and past president of the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), Freedman has chaired or served on several committees. He chaired the ALA Pay Equity Committee and the Public Library Association (PLA) Committee on Cataloging Needs of Public Libraries and has been a member of the Social Responsibilities Round Table and the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Planning Committee. LITA, PLA and ALCTS are divisions of ALA.

Freedman led automated cataloging efforts at the Hennepin County Library and was recognized with the LITA Award for Achievement for his efforts to utilize technology to serve library users. He also has chaired the intellectual freedom committees in Minnesota and New York and received the ACLU/Westchester Chapter Award for participating in a lawsuit to overturn New York State’s “harmful to minors” Internet law.

Freedman has served as an associate professor in the School of Library Service at Columbia (N.Y.) University and the head of Tech Services at Hennepin county Library. He also is the current publisher and editor-in-chief of The U*N*A*B*A*S*H*E*D Librarian™ and has served as a consultant on four continents, including libraries in Latvia, Korea and Kenya.

He received his master’s degree in library science from the University of California, Berkeley, and a doctorate from Rutgers (N.J.) University.

ALA members current as of January 31 will vote on the spring 2001 ballot. The candidate elected will serve as ALA vice president/president-elect for 2001-2002 and as president the following year.