Eight libraries win awards for library building excellence

Contact: Arawa McClendon


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

April 2001

Eight libraries win awards for library building excellence

Eight library buildings have won the 2001 Awards of Excellence for Library Architecture in the 20th Library Buildings Award Program sponsored by the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA).

The biennial awards recognize distinguished accomplishments in library architecture by an American architect for any library regardless of location or type. Award categories include new buildings, additions, renovations, restorations, conversion to library use and interior redesign and refurnishing.

The winning library buildings include three new buildings and five renovations. They are:

  • New Buildings
  • Steven Ehrlich Architects, Los Angeles, for the
    Robertson Branch Library (Los Angeles)
    Cheryl Collins, branch manager. This 10,000-square-foot branch library floats above the busy streetscape to support both library and parking on a tight urban site.
  • Carlson Architect, P.S., Seattle, for the
    North Mason Timberland Library (Belfair, Wash.)
    Thelma Kruse, library director. The new library in Belfair is the heart of this small, rural community. The building reflects the history and character of the old logging and milling town, and its design is reminiscent of millrun sheds in the area.
  • Thomas Hacker and Associates Architect, Inc., Portland, Ore., for the
    Woodstock Branch Library (Portland, Ore.)
    Ginnie Cooper, library director. This new branch library occupies a prominent commercial corner in its Portland neighborhood, and the simple, direct interior layout balances the commercial traffic outside.


  • Michael Graves & Associates, Princeton, N. J., in association with
    Klipp Colussy Jenks DuBois Architects, Denver, for the
    Denver Public Library,
    Rick Ashton, library director. The renovation and expansion of the 1956 downtown library designed by Burnham Hoyt, resulted in a building that more than tripled the size of the Burnham building to 540,000 square feet.
  • Elliott & Elliott Architecture, Blue Hill, Maine, for the
    Friend Memorial Library, (Brooklin, Maine)
    Gretchen Volenick, library director. The library replaced a structurally unsound addition with a new space that simplified the exterior and provided greater order to the interior.
  • Helfand Myerberg Guggenheimer, New York City, for the
    Rhys Carpenter Library, (Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, Pa.)
    Elliott Shore, library director. The library houses Bryn Mawr's Art and Archaeology and Growth of Cities collections. This project expanded Thomas Hall, an historic 1904 collegiate Gothic building by Cope and Stewardson, by way of building a submerged two-story structure under a grassy roof terrace.
  • Fletcher Farr Ayotte PC, Portland, Ore., in association with
    Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates, Los Angeles, for the
    Multnomah County Central Library (Portland, Ore.)
    Ginnie Cooper, library director. The renovation respects the character of this 1913 National Register structure while opening more of the collection to direct public access, improving physical access for disabled users and providing proper support for modern computer, telecommunications and security needs.
  • Graham Gund Architects, Cambridge, Mass., for the
    Dimond Library (University of New Hampshire, Nurham)
    Claudia Morner, library director. The expansion and renovation of the Dimond Library provided shelf space for a 1 million-volume collection and improved access to technology. The awards will be presented to the librarians and architects of the winning libraries at 2:30 p.m. at the San Francisco Public Library on Saturday, June 16, during the 2001 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in San Francisco.

This year's ALA jury included Anders C. Dahlgren, Library Planing Associates, Inc., Madison, Wis.; Barbara Norland, library regional administrator, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Rockville, Md.; and Rich Rosenthal, chief of operations, Public Library of Charlotte and Meckenburg County, Charlotte, N.C. This year's AIA jury included: Ted Flato, FAIA (chair) of Lake/Flato Architects in San Antonio; Andrew W. Prescott, AIA of Einhorn Yaffee Prescott, Washington, D.C.; and James C. Childress, AIA of Centerbrook Architects and Planers, Centerbrook, Conn.

LAMA is a division of ALA.