David Almond wins Printz Award

Contact: Larra Clark



ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

January 2001

David Almond wins Printz Award

(Washington, D.C.) -- David Almond, author of "Kit's Wilderness," was named the winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature for young adults. "Kit's Wilderness," published by Delacorte Press and edited by Karen Wojtyla, tells the tale of Kit Watson who returns with his family to the Northern English coal mining town where generations of his family have worked and died.

The announcement was made January 15 during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Washington, D.C. The annual award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of ALA, and sponsored by
Booklist magazine. The award, first given in 2000, honors the late Michael L. Printz, a Topeka, Kan., school librarian, known for discovering and promoting quality books for young adults.

"In lyrical fashion, Kit's story melds the darkness of the past with bright hope for the future," said Peter M. Butts, chair of the Printz Award Selection Committee. "Almond creates a heartbreakingly real world fused with magic realism as he juggles several plot elements with dexterity. He also leads the reader to understanding how life can be seen through the prisms of space and time."

David Almond grew up in a mining community in northeastern England and draws upon his childhood memories in his writing. His first book, "Skellig," was a Printz Honor Book in 2000.

Four Printz Honor Books were named: "Many Stones," by Carolyn Coman, published by Front Street Press; "The Body of Christopher Creed," by Carol Plum-Ucci, published by Harcourt, Inc.; "Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging," by Louise Rennison, published by HarperCollins Publishers; and "Stuck in Neutral," by Terry Trueman, published by HarperCollins Publishers.

Members of the Printz Award Committee are: Peter M. Butts, chair, East Middle School, Holland, Mich.; Jennifer Baltes, Forest Hill Elementary School, Harford County, Md.; Barbara Blosveren, Stratford Library Association, Stratford, Conn.; Debbie Carton, Berkeley Public Library, Berkeley, Calif.; Rosemary Chance, The University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Miss.; Stacy Charlesbois, Farmington Community Library, Farmington, Mich.; Ilene Cooper, Booklist Books for Youth, Chicago, Ill.; Marijo Kist, Phoenix Public Library, Phoenix, Ariz.; Cindy Lombardo, Orrville Public Library, Orrville, Ohio; and Rebecca Loney, Snohomish Library, Snohomish, Wash.

More information about the
Printz Award can be found online.