ALSC/Econo-Clad Literature Program Award winner announced

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

January 2001

ALSC/Econo-Clad Literature Program Award winner announced

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is pleased to announce that Ashley Fowlkes is the 2001 recipient of the ALSC/Econo-Clad Literature Program Award. Fowlkes, children's librarian at the Bowling Green (Ky.) Public Library, was selected for her development of the "Young Adult Storytelling Drama Troupe."

Participants in this program are young adults in grades 7-12 who perform for preschool and elementary age children and their families. Members meet weekly to develop original productions for children that dramatize a variety of stories from both current and classic picture books, fairy tales and poetry collections.

"Teens meet for the purpose of encouraging younger children to get excited about reading. Together they explore children's literature and then become fully involved in the creative process of bringing selected stories to life on the stage. We do not ask for previous acting experience, only lots of enthusiasm," said Fowlkes.

Members of the award committee cited teen involvement in the library, the development of positive teen role models for children and the broad selection of literature featured as being among the high points of the program.

"It is evident that due to Fowlkes' hard work, inspiration and leadership, both teens and young children in Bowling Green benefit from this high quality program," said committee chair Silvia Kraft-Walker.

As the winner, Fowlkes will receive a $1,000 grant to attend the ALA Annual Conference next June in San Francisco. The award is made possible through an annual grant from the Econo-Clad Books Company, a division of the American Companies.

The members of the 2001 ALSC/Econo-Clad Literature Program Award Committee were: Silvia Kraft-Walker, chair, Glenview (Ill.) Public Library; Susan Erickson, San Bernardino County (Calif.) Library; Anna Healy, Skokie (Ill.) Public Library; and Lisa Von Drasek, Bank Street College of Education Library, New York City.