ALSC Bechtel Fellowship winner announced

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

January 2001

ALSC Bechtel Fellowship winner announced

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is pleased to announce that Jane Marino has been selected as the 2001 recipient of the Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship.

The Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children's librarians to spend a month or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library, part of the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida in Gainesville, which contains a special collection of 85,000 volumes of children's literature published mostly before 1950.

The fellowship is endowed in memory of Louise Seaman Bechtel and Ruth M. Baldwin and provides a stipend of $4,000, which must be used between January and September 2002.

Sue McCleaf Nespeca, chair of the Bechtel Fellowship Selection Committee, noted that there were several interesting research proposals this year, but the committee was impressed that Marino has already published books in her interest area and wishes to further her research.

Marino plans to study Mother Goose rhymes, street rhymes and songs, play songs and school songs at the Baldwin Library. She intends to use the research in the programs she conducts for children, teachers and other librarians.

Marino is head of Children's Services at the Scarsdale (N.Y.) Public Library. Author of "Sing Us a Story" and co-author of "Mother Goose Time: Library Programs for Infants and their Caregivers," Marino's topic of research, the history and evolution of children's songs, and their meaning and use, relates to both her book publications.

Members of the 2001 Bechtel Fellowship Selection Committee were: Sue McCleaf Nespeca, chair, Kidlit Plus Consulting, Youngstown, Ohio; Sheila Carson, Free Library of Philadelphia; Susan Golden, Carol Grotnes Belk Library, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.; and Karen Hoyle, Walter Library, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.