ALA councilors elected

Contact: Lois-Anne Gregory-Wood


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

May 2001

ALA councilors elected

Thirty-two members have been elected to the Council of the American Library Association (ALA). Twenty-six of them have been elected as councilors-at-large: twenty-five of these for 2001-2004 and one for 2001-2003.

2001-2004: Khafre K. Abif, Monika J. Antonelli, John D. Berry, James B. Casey, Sharon Coatney, Carol Diehl, Jana R. Fine, Nann Blaine Hilyard, Sara Kelly Johns, Sue Kamm, Em Claire Knowles, Carmencita H. Leon, Gloria J. Leonard, S. Michael Malinconico, Bernard A. Margolis, Barbara T. Mates, Stephen L. Matthews, D. Jackson Maxwell, Vivian B. Melton, Patricia Gail Oyler, June A. Pinnell-Stephens, Ann C. Sparanese, Roberta A. Stevens, Thomas L. Wilding, Marie Turner - Wright

2001-2003: Michael E. D. Koenig

Six other Councilors also have been elected for 2001-2004: Antoinette Negro, American Association of School Librarians (AASL); Patricia A. Wand, Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL); Marilyn M. Irwin, Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA); Barbra B. Higginbotham, Library and Information Technology Association (LITA); Bernadine Abbott-Hoduski, Government Documents Round Table; and Timothy P. Grimes, Library Instruction Round Table.

AASL, ACRL, ASCLA and LITA are all ALA divisions.