ALA announces Spectrum Scholarship recipients

Contact: Wendy Prellwitz


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

August 2001

ALA announces Spectrum Scholarship recipients

The American Library Association's (ALA) Office for Diversity announced the fourth cohort of Spectrum Scholarships at ALA's Annual Conference in San Francisco, June 14-20. The Spectrum Initiative's major drive is to recruit applicants and award scholarships to African American, Latino/Hispanic, Asian/Pacific Islander and Native American/Alaskan Native students for graduate programs in library and information studies. Its mission is to improve service at the local level through the development of a representative workforce that reflects the communities served by all types of libraries in the new millennium.

The ALA committed resources for 50 annual scholarships of $5,000 a year for the Initiative's first four years. Due to generous donations from ALA Past President Betty Turock and the Medical Library Association/National Library of Medicine (MLA/NLM), two additional scholarships, the Betty Turock Spectrum Scholarship and the MLA/NLM Spectrum Scholarship, have been awarded for the 2001-2002 year. The 52 Spectrum Scholars are as follows:

Rhonda Allende, Jersey City, N.J.

Camille Andrews, Chelsea, Mass.

Cecilia Barber, Sanostee, N.M.

Cheryl (Bernadette), Beredo Ithaca, N.Y.

Nathalie Bouillon, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Stacy Brown, Silver Springs, Md.

Randi Carreno, Plano Ill.

Felecia Clark, Detroit

Niccole Coggins, Blacksburg, Va.

Jose Cordova, Boise, Idaho

Malynda Dalton, Belchertown, Mass.

An-Chi Dianu, Washington, D.C.

Tracy Ducksworth, Hazel Crest, Ill.

Antonia Dugan, Ypsilanti, Mich.

Cynthia Elizondo, Helotes, Texas

Alicia Ellis, Lexington, Ky.

Nance Espinosa, Fresno, Calif.

Hoa Vo Thi (Kate) Flanagan, St. Paul, Minn.

Trina Ford, Stone Mountain, Ga.

Amy Gonzalez, Waco, Texas

Helen Gonzalez, Tucson, Az.

Xan Goodman, East Lansing, Mich.

Todd Honma, Los Angeles

Petrina Jackson, Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Michael Johnson, Fort Myers, Fla.

Portia Johnson, Chicago

Willie James Johnson, Jr., Baltimore

Shannon Fuquay Jones, Varina, Calif.

Chungsil Kim, La Crescenta, Calif.

Beverly Ku, Danville, Calif.

Carolyn Lei-lanilau, Oakland, Calif.

Benjamin Longoria, San Antonio

Monica Lopez, Tampa, Fla.

Tamika Maddox, Decatur, Ga.

Carmen Markham, Chicago

Kassundra Miller, Bloomfield, N.J.

Petra Morris, Pasadena, Calif.

Renee Newry, Irving, Texas

Sandy Pon, Tempe, Az.

Silvia Reveles, Dallas

Alexandra Rivera-Rule, Jackson, Mo.

LaVera Rose, Oneida, S.D.

Nicholas Saunders, Chicago

Crystal Silver Smith, Springs. Md.

Joanne Suzara, Goose Creek, S.C.

Darren Seeper, South Orange, N.J.

Teri Tada, Seattle

Harry Ting, Flushing, N.Y.

Lin-Pyng (Lucy) Wang, Elkins Park, Pa.

Linda Crichlow White, Washington, D.C.

Felicia Smith, Chicago (Medical Library Association/National Library of Medicine Spectrum Scholar)

E. Chisa Uyeke, San Francisco (Betty Turock Spectrum Scholar)

To continue its dedication to promoting diversity within the profession, the ALA seeks to establish a $4 million endowment to support Spectrum Scholarships in perpetuity.

For more information on the
Spectrum Initiative and how you can contribute, please contact the Office for Diversity at 1-800-545-2433 ext. 4276.