2001 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship winner named

Contact: Maxine Moore


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

August 2001

2001 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship winner named

The American Library Association (ALA) has named Christina L. Deyton of Burnsville, N.C. as the recipient of the 2001 Tony B. Leisner Scholarship.

The $3,000 scholarship, named for Leisner, an active ALA member and former member of the ALA Council, is awarded to a library support staff member pursuing a master's degree in library and information studies. The scholarship was established with funds donated by Leisner.

Deyton is a teacher and media coordinator at Yancey County Schools, Burnsville, N.C. She became interested in the library and information science field as a child when her mother worked as a media center assistant, and she always wanted to know how things worked in the media center. Deyton wants to promote literacy by teaching students and adults how to excel in this "information-rich society."

Deyton received her bachelor's of science in elementary education from Appalachian State University. She will be attending the University of North Carolina - Greensboro.

Deyton was recognized in June during the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.