2001 Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship winners named

Contact: Maxine Moore


ALA News Release

For Immediate Release

August 2001

2001 Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship winners named

The American Library Association (ALA) has named Jane E. Hamilton of Scarborough, Maine, and Cynthia A. Gibbon of Gettysburg, Pa., as the winners of the Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship.

The $3,000 award is given to an ALA or library support staff member to finance studies toward a master's degree in library and information studies. The scholarship was named in memory of Hornback, a longtime ALA staff member, who was secretariat to the ALA Council and Executive Board.

Hamilton has worked in a library environment for 14 years and is currently the children's librarian at Prince Memorial Library. She says she has a strong commitment to preserving intellectual freedom and to providing access to people of all ages and enjoys interacting with people, especially children and teens. She will attend the University of South Carolina.

Gibbon has held a number of positions at the Musselman Library, Gettysburg College. Currently, she is the access service manager. While working at the Musselman Library, she has accomplished innovation in implementing improved policies and procedures. She will attend the University of Pittsburgh.

The winners were recognized in June during the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.