Carnegie-Whitney Grant 2023 award winners

For Immediate Release
Wed, 03/22/2023


Mary Jo Bolduc

Grant Administrator

American Library Association


The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States.

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2023 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

  • Anne Moore and Catherine Tingelstad, Free Expression and Constructive Dialogue: The Intersection of Social Issues and Media Literacy
  • Annette Goldsmith, Marc Aronson, and David Jacobson, Building a Global Youth Literature Collection 101
  • Elizabeth Dill, Academic Libraries’ Retention of BIPOC-Identifying Librarians in the Field of Library Information Sciences through Mentorship: A Guide for Managers and Supervisors
  • Grace Spiewak and Sue Shultz, Beyond the Desk: A LibGuide of Leisure Materials to Support Students' Mental Health and Wellbeing
  • John Piche, Unpacking Our History Video Interview Collection
  • Lindsay Negrello, Protest in the Virgin Islands
  • Madison Evans, Creating Accessible and User-friendly Black Genealogical Tools
  • Neil Grimes, Social Justice, Equity, and Antiracism in a Pre-K-12 Curriculum Booklists
  • Hyerim Cho/University of Missouri, Readers' Advisory Guide Webtoon: Recommending Accessible Comics for the Public
  • Vivian Bynoe and Cay Coates, Cultivating a Culture of Care: Trauma-Informed Librarianship

View the list of past award winners.

Applications for the next cycle must be received by November 3, 2023. Recipients will be notified by the end of February 2024.

Information and guidelines for the Carnegie-Whitney Grant are available on the ALA website or by contacting Mary Jo Bolduc, Grant Administrator, American Library Association at