Core to Honor Award Winners at 2022 ALA Annual Conference

For Immediate Release
Tue, 06/07/2022


Mia Blixt-Shehan

Continuing Education Assistant

Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures

American Library Association

Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures is immensely pleased to be honoring its award winners at the 2022 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition. There is incredible talent in the library world and it is a privilege to help highlight it. The complete list of Core award ceremonies and presentations is below. We hope to see you there!

Core President's Program
Saturday, June 25th, 2022, 4:00-5:30 p.m.
Location: Marriott Marquis, Marquis Ballroom Salon 6-10

The 2022 winners of the Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship and the Margaret Mann Citation will be recognized at the beginning of the Core President's Program.

The Core/Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship provides tuition help for library school students who want to follow a career in the library and information technology field and who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, and a vision in this area.

Learn more about the 2022 Larew Scholarship winner

The Margaret Mann Citation recognizes outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries.

Learn more about the 2022 Mann Citation winner

PR Xchange Awards
Sunday, June 26th, 2022, 11:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
Location: Washington Convention Center, Special Events Area

The annual PR Xchange Awards Competition recognizes the very best public relations materials produced by libraries in the past year. Entries are evaluated on content, originality, and design by a team of experts in public relations, graphic design, communications, and marketing, who select the winner(s) in each category. This competition evaluates the singular promotional items a library produces, not the entire campaign.

Learn more about the 2022 PR Xchange Award winners

IIDA Awards
Sunday, June 26th, 2022, 1:00-2:00 p.m.
Location: Washington Convention Center, 152B

The IIDA awards honor international excellence in library interior design. Award winners demonstrate excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, function, and satisfaction of the client’s objectives.

The 2022 IIDA Award winners will be announced June 16th.

John Cotton Dana Awards
Sunday, June 26th, 2022, 4:00-7:00 p.m.
Location: Renaissance, Potomac Ballroom Salon 3

The John Cotton Dana Award honors outstanding effective strategic communication campaigns that show results, no matter what size or type of library.

The 2022 John Cotton Dana Awards winners will be announced soon.

ALA/AIA Building Awards
Monday, June 27th, 2022, 3:30-6:00 p.m.
Location: American Institute of Architects Headquarters, 1735 New York Ave NW, Washington, DC 20006

The annual ALA/AIA Building Awards recognize excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries.  Awards for distinguished accomplishment in library architecture by an architect licensed in the United States will be made for any library in the United States or abroad.

Learn more about the 2022 ALA/AIA Building Award winners

About Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures
Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures is the national association that advances the profession of librarians and information providers in central roles of leadership and management, collections and technical services, and technology. Our mission is to cultivate and amplify the collective expertise of library workers in core functions through community building, advocacy, and learning. Follow us on our Blog or on Twitter.