Thakkar elected 2023-2024 AASL Independent Schools Section Chair

For Immediate Release
Fri, 05/13/2022


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)


CHICAGO – Neha Thakkar, school librarian at the Avery Coonley School in Downers Grove, Illinois, has been elected 2023-2024 chair of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Independent Schools Section (ISS).  

“To me, AASL is key to building relationships and connections,” said Thakkar. “The more we can point to our why – the support and resources we can bring to a classroom, our standards, our need in the school for literacy, along with being another trusted adult for kids who need one – we can continue to make learning meaningful. After 15 years learning and laughing with kids in urban public and private schools, I’ve learned a lot about how to stretch a budget, reach a kid who just didn’t want to read, and bring some teachers into the current century. I look forward to serving as the ISS Chair and supporting and that important work.”

Thakkar is a member of AASL and the Association for Library Service to Children. She is also on the Black Caucus American Library Association and a member of the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association, where she serves on the awards committee for middle grade/children books.

“AASL will be well guided by these phenomenal leaders,” said AASL Immediate Past President Kathy Carroll. “I want to thank them again for making the commitment to serve their national association in this capacity. It is only with talented, dedicated volunteer leaders that we can continue to move the association, and the profession, forward.”

Full AASL election results can be found on the AASL website at

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.