Lucas elected 2022-2024 AASL Independent Schools Section Secretary

For Immediate Release
Fri, 05/13/2022


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)


CHICAGO – Amanda Lucas, librarian at Riverside Presbyterian Day School in Jacksonville, Florida, has been elected 2022-2024 secretary of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Independent Schools Section (ISS).

“In library school, my mentor Dr. Mildred Knight Laughlin emphasized that part of my professional role was to join and participate in our professional organizations, ALA and AASL being preeminent,” said Lucas. “AASL is the group of professionals that define the character and practice of school librarianship for the benefit of our learner communities. A school librarian who is student-focused will find opportunities to grow in practice, along with the research to support methods of practice and standards through active membership in AASL. In my role as ISS secretary, I look forward to supporting school librarians in the sharpening of our professional skills and adding to the synergy of ideas leading to better practice for the benefit of our students.”

Lucas is a member of AASL and the Association for Library Service to Children. She has previously served on the AASL Supervisors Section’s program committee and as a member of the AASL Intellectual Freedom Committee. Lucas has also been a volunteer leader for the Florida Association of Media Educators and the Texas Library Association.

“AASL will be well guided by these phenomenal leaders,” said AASL Immediate Past President Kathy Carroll. “I want to thank them again for making the commitment to serve their national association in this capacity. It is only with talented, dedicated volunteer leaders that we can continue to move the association, and the profession, forward.”

Full AASL election results can be found on the AASL website at

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.