IFRT accepting nominations for 2022 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award

For Immediate Release
Wed, 09/01/2021


Kristin Pekoll

IFRT Staff Liaison

Intellectual Freedom Round Table

American Library Association



The Intellectual Freedom Round Table is pleased to announce that beginning in 2022 that the Round Table will be awarding the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award annually. The Oboler Award will honor journal articles in even number years (2022, 2024, etc.) and then honor books in odd number years (2023, 2025, etc.) In the autumn of 2021, the Oboler committee is seeking nominations for the 2022 journal article award. The award honors a literary work or series of works in the area of intellectual freedom. This can include matters of ethical, political, or social concerns related to intellectual freedom. The article may be stand-alone or a series of thematically connected articles published on the local, state, or national level in English or English translation. The articles should be dated either 2020 or 2021.

The award is $500 and a certificate and is presented at the ALA Annual Conference each year.

For more information on criteria of the award, past recipients or to submit a nomination please visit the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award website.

Members of the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award Committee are as follows: Chair, Michael Blackwell; Molly Dettmann, Norman North High School; Eldon Ray James, Retired Librarian; Michael D. Kirby, New York Public Library; Dr. Carole E. Nowicke, Indiana University; Amanda Vazquez, Dubuque County (Iowa) Library District and IFRT Director-At-Large; Shu Wan, School of Library and Information Science at the University of Iowa.

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA