ALSC supports 2021 Bound to Stay Bound, Melcher, and Spectrum Scholarships

For Immediate Release
Fri, 07/09/2021


Elizabeth Serrano

Membership and Marketing Specialist


CHICAGO – The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded a total of 6 students the Bound to Stay Bound and Melcher Scholarships for the 2021-2022 academic year. Additionally, ALSC has sponsored 2 Spectrum Scholars and 1 additional Spectrum Scholar made possible through the generous support of Ellen Fader, 2005-2006 past-president.    

Four recipients were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $8,000 in scholarship aid for the 2021-2022 academic year. The four recipients are Molly Boehm, attending Longwood University; Dana Fanslow, attending the University of Illinois; Lindsay Robins, attending North Carolina Central University; and Scott Shaffer, attending Clarion University.

Boehm is a Teacher at Richmond Public Schools in Richmond, Virginia. Fanslow is currently the Youth Services Manager at the Fox River Grove Memorial Library in Fox River Grove, Illinois. Lindsay Robins is a Library Services Specialist II for the Catawba County Library System, located in Western North Carolina. Shaffer is a PreK-6 Teacher Librarian at the South Eastern School District in York County, Pennsylvania.

Two students were awarded a Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. Each award provides $8,000 in scholarship aid for the 2021-2022 academic year. Jeremiah Henderson is a fifth grade teacher at the Northshore School District in Washington, and he is attending San Jose State University. Brianna King is a Customer Service Specialist at the Richland Library Southeast in South Carolina, and she is attending the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution and demonstrate a committment to library service to children. Recipients are also strongly encouraged to accept or hold positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

For the 2021-2022 academic year, as in previous years, two ALSC Spectrum Scholars interested in library service to children have been designated through funding from the Melcher Endowment. ALSC is pleased to share, beginning with the 2022-2023 academic year, the ALSC Board has approved funding a third Spectrum Scholar for a total of three scholars. Additionally, for the eighth year, Ellen Fader, past-president (2005-2006) of ALSC has generously donated to the Spectrum Scholarship Program allowing ALSC to support an additional scholar. Her support has provided follow-up grants for Spectrum Scholar alumni to accelerate their path toward graduation and an annual Spectrum Scholarship in her name. The three 2021-2022 ALSC Spectrum Scholars are Elizabeth Lafont-Hurtado, Kimberly Nguyen, and Chantra Tham. Learn more about the full 2021 class of Spectrum Scholars by visiting

“ALSC is proud to support another cohort of students who all demonstrate a strong commitment to the children in their communities,” says 2020-2021 ALSC President, Kirby McCurtis. “Thank you to Bound to Stay Bound Books Inc., donors to our Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship fund, and past-president, Ellen Fader, for their continued support.”

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is driven by approximately 4,000 members dedicated to the support and enrichment of library service to children. Our members include youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty. ALSC supports its members in engaging communities to build healthy, successful futures for all children. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The ALSC Professional Recognition and Scholarships Committee, charged with selecting ALSC’s scholars each year, include: Megan Egbert, Bina Williams, Kathleen Campana, Rachel Fryd, Robin Howe, Kathy Jarombek, Emily Mroczek, and Elizabeth Saxton.