YALSA names 2021 Writing Award winners

For Immediate Release
Fri, 02/05/2021


Anna Lam

Communications Specialist

Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)


CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) has selected the winners of its 2021 Writing Award, which aims to honor exemplary writing featured in its blogs and journals.

Winners were named in the following three categories:

The winners of the journal articles will each receive a $500 monetary award due to the more extensive nature of their work, while the winners of the blog posts will each receive a $200 monetary award. The award is supported through funds donated to Friends of YALSA. To learn more or to donate, visit www.ala.org/yalsa/givetoyalsa/give.

The YALSA Writing Award recognizes the contribution of YALSA members who have written an article or blog post for the association’s journals or blogs that is timely, original, and relevant to YALSA members and well-written. Each year, YALSA’s blog managers and journal editors select a shortlist of up to five articles or posts that meet award criteria to submit to the YALSA Writing Award Jury. If you’d like to write for any of YALSA’s publications, please fill out the volunteer form.

The 2021 YALSA Writing Award Jury Members are: Chair Heather Colby, Homer Glen, IL; Matthew Clark, Toronto, ON, Canada; Janet Hilbun, Garland, TX; Ellen McTyre, Mamaroneck, NY; Carolyn Vidmar, Baltimore, MD; and Melissa McBride, Bellport, NY.

The mission of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) is to support library staff in alleviating the challenges teens face, and in putting all teens ‒ especially those with the greatest needs ‒ on the path to successful and fulfilling lives. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to www.ala.org/yalsa, or contact the YALSA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail: yalsa@ala.org.