Nominations open for 2021 IFRT John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award

For Immediate Release
Thu, 10/29/2020


Kristin Pekoll

Staff Liaison

Intellectual Freedom Round Table

American Library Association


The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) is accepting nominations for the 2021 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award. This award, presented annually, honors notable contributions to intellectual freedom and demonstrations of personal courage in defense of freedom of expression by a living individual, group, or organization. The award consists of a citation and $500. IFRT will present the award during the 2021 ALA annual conference in Chicago, IL.

The award is sponsored by the Intellectual Freedom Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA). The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2020.

Visit the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award page for more information and to submit nominations.


Members of the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award Committee are: Chair Cyndi Robinson, Illinois Library Association; Johannah Genett, Hennepin County Library; Kristin Green, Penn State Scranton; Dr. Linda Parsons, Ohio State University; and Lynda Poling, Long Beach Public Library.

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA