ALSC supports 2020 Bound to Stay Bound, Melcher, and Spectrum Scholarships

For Immediate Release
Tue, 07/07/2020


Elizabeth Serrano

Membership and Marketing Specialist



CHICAGO – The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded a total of 5 students the Bound to Stay Bound and Melcher Scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year. Additionally, ALSC has sponsored 2 Spectrum Scholars and 1 additional Spectrum Scholar made possible through the generous support of Ellen Fader, 2005-2006 past-president.    

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $8,000 in scholarship aid for the 2020-2021 academic year. The four recipients are Emily Thomas Chambliss, attending East Carolina University; Donald Giacomini, attending Valdosta State University; Lola Edwards Gomez, attending Texas Woman’s University; and Jennifer Nicole Johnson, attending Valdosta State University.

Chambliss is a Remediation Teacher at Ridgewood Elementary in Pitt County, NC. Giacomini is currently the Youth Services Specialist at the Gwinnett County Public Library in Lawrenceville, GA. Gomez is a Bilingual Music and Movement Instructor at City of Melissa in Melissa, TX. Johnson is a Library Assistant – School Age Program Coordinator at the Johnson City Public Library in Johnson City, TN.

One student was awarded the Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. This award is worth $8,000 in scholarship aid. The recipient is, Karen You-Chuan Wang, attending Pratt Institute, School of Information. Wang is a former educational technology professional in Brooklyn, NY, pursuing a MLIS full-time.

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution. Recipients are also expected to accept positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

Two ALSC Spectrum Scholars interested in library service to children are designated annually through funding from the Melcher Endowment. For the seventh year, Ellen Fader, past-president (2005-2006) of ALSC has generously donated to the Spectrum Scholarship Program allowing ALSC to support a third Spectrum Scholar. Her support has provided follow-up grants for Spectrum Scholar alumni to accelerate their path toward graduation and an annual Spectrum Scholarship in her name. The three ALSC Spectrum Scholars are Alex Aspiazu, Kyra Lee, and Angelica Mejia.

Aspiazu works as a Library Assistant in Fort Belvoir, VA and will be attending the University of Illinois; Lee is a Library Clerk in Chicago, IL and will be attending the University of Illinois; and Mejia is a Library Assistant in Carlsbad, CA attending the University of Southern California.

“During these challenging times, ALSC is proud to continue to support students pursuing their MLIS,” says ALSC President, Kirby McCurtis. “Thank you to Bound to Stay Bound Books Inc., donors to our Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship fund, and past-president, Ellen Fader, for their continued support.”

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is driven by approximately 4,000 members dedicated to the support and enrichment of library service to children. Our members include youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty. ALSC supports its members in engaging communities to build healthy, successful futures for all children. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The 2020 ALSC Scholarship Committee includes: Kristen Kwisnek, Chair; Emily Mroczek; Keary Bramwell, Kathleen Campana, and Joanna Fabicon.