AASL President recognizes Marney Welmers with Crystal Apple Award

For Immediate Release
Fri, 06/21/2019


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)


CHICAGO – Marina "Marney" Welmers, retired middle school librarian, has been selected as a 2019 recipient of the Crystal Apple by American Association of School Librarians (AASL) President Kathryn Roots Lewis. The Crystal Apple honor is given at the discretion of the AASL President to an individual or group that has had a significant impact on school libraries and students.

Since 2016, Welmers has sponsored the Inspire Collection Development and Inspire Special Events Grants. The collection development grant provides up to $5,000 in funds for school libraries to extend, update, and diversify their book, online, subscription and/or software collections. Up to $20,000 is available annually. The special event grant provides up to $2,000 in funding to a school library looking to engage students with school library resources and promote reading, books, literacy and authors. A total of $10,000 will be distributed to schools annually.

In 2017, Welmers expanded her commitment to school libraries by funding the Inspire Disaster Recovery Grant. The grant supports public middle or high school libraries that have incurred damage or hardship due to a natural disaster, fire, or an act recognized by the federal government as terrorism. The grant also provides funding to schools impacted by an increase in enrollment due to displaced/evacuee students. A total of $30,000 in funding is available each year. 

"It is an honor and privilege to present the AASL President’s Crystal Apple Award to Marney Welmers for her many years of commitment to and sustained support of school librarians and the learners they serve," said Lewis. "Her generous donation continues to impact AASL and school librarians every day."

The AASL award winners will be recognized at the AASL Awards Ceremony during the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. The ceremony will be held from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 22. All are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event.

The American Association of School Librarians, www.aasl.org, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.