Charles McClure Wins 2019 LITA/OCLC Kilgour Research Award

For Immediate Release
Mon, 03/25/2019


Jenny Levine

Executive Director

Library and Information Technology Association


Charles McClure has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology, sponsored by OCLC and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA). He is the Francis Eppes Professor of Information Studies in the School of Information at Florida State University and the Director of the Information Use Management and Policy Institute at FSU. Previously he was a Distinguished Professor at the iSchool at Syracuse University and Associate Professor at the University of Oklahoma.
The Kilgour Award honors research relevant to the development of information technologies, especially work which shows promise of having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect(s) of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information, or the processes by which information and data are manipulated and managed. It recognizes a body of work probably spanning years, if not the majority of a career. The winner receives $2,000, a citation, and travel expenses to attend the LITA Awards Ceremony & President's Program at the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington D.C.
During his 45 years in Libraries, Professor McClure has authored multiple books, reports, and papers on information policy, networked services, broadband deployment, and digital libraries. His work has had wide-reaching impact not only through his vast number of collaborative partners but due to the direct impact of his research on technology policy. In the words of one supporter,
“Chuck has spent his entire career doing meaningful research that leads directly to the creation and/or expansion of impactful and tangible strategies and best practices, including how to evaluate them, regarding all aspects of gathering, storing (including protecting) and disseminating information.”
When notified that he had been selected, Professor McClure said, "I am deeply honored to have been selected to receive the Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology. I want to thank the Committee, as well as all my co-researchers, doctoral students, colleagues, and other collaborators, who, over the years have worked with me. I also want to thank all the library folks who also participated in the various research projects we have done. The collaboration among all these people is an important component for high quality research in library and information science."
Members of the 2019 Kilgour Award Committee are Aimee Fifarek (Chair), Emma Kepron, Colby Riggs, Kevin Washburn, and Rachel Frick (OCLC Liaison).

About LITA

The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) is the leading organization reaching out across types of libraries to provide education and services for a broad membership of systems librarians, library technologists, library administrators, library schools, vendors, and others interested in leading edge technology and applications for librarians and information providers. LITA is a division of the American Library Association. Follow us on our Blog, Facebook, or Twitter.

About OCLC
OCLC is a nonprofit global library cooperative providing shared technology services, original research and community programs so that libraries can better fuel learning, research and innovation. Through OCLC, member libraries cooperatively produce and maintain WorldCat, the most comprehensive global network of data about library collections and services. Libraries gain efficiencies through OCLC's WorldShare, a complete set of library management applications and services built on an open, cloud-based platform. It is through collaboration and sharing of the world's collected knowledge that libraries can help people find answers they need to solve problems. Together as OCLC, member libraries, staff and partners make breakthroughs possible.