Carnegie-Whitney Grant 2019 winners

For Immediate Release
Mon, 03/25/2019


Mary Jo Bolduc

Grant Administrator

American Library Association


The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States.  

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2019 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

  • Gil Ben-Herut and Jon Kuene: Bhakti Virtual Archive (BHAVA)
  • Rachel Ivy Clarke: List of Lists: An Index of Diversity Book Lists for Adults
  • Louis Jones: Michigan Black History Bibliography
  • Karen Gavigan: Social Justice in Young Adult Graphic Novels: A Global Perspective
  • Megan McCaffrey: Children in Trauma Bibliography
  • Naomi Magola: BeTWEEN the Lines: An Annotated Bibliography of Mental Health Books for Tweens
  • Lindsay Schriftman: Let's Be Changemakers: A Resource Guide for Social Innovation Education
  • Dana Thompson: Recommended Reads for Visual Literacy
  • Clarissa West-White: Research Guide & Resources for Homeless College & High School Students

View the list of past award winners.

Applications for the next cycle must be received by November 1, 2019. Recipients will be notified by the end of February 2020.

More information and guidelines are available on the ALA website or by contacting Mary Jo Bolduc, Grant Administrator, American Library Association, 50 E. Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611; Fax (312) 280-5275; email: