ALA announces slate of Council candidates

For Immediate Release
Tue, 09/11/2018


JoAnne Kempf


American Library Association, Office of ALA Governance

Chicago - The American Library Association (ALA) announces the following individuals as candidates for positions on the ALA Council.  These individuals were nominated by the Nominating Committee for the 2019 ALA Election:

Devon Andrews, Branch Manager, Charleston (South Carolina) County Public Library 

Carl A. Antonucci, Jr., Director of Library Services, Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, Connecticut

Oscar Baeza, Head Librarian/Associate Professor, El Paso (Texas) Community College

Jennifer C. Boettcher, Business Reference Librarian, Georgetown University, Washington, DC

Laura Bonella, Associate Professor/Academic Services Librarian, Kansas State University Libraries, Manhattan, Kansas

Derrick Burton, Library Director, Waldorf University, Forest City, Iowa

John Eric Byrnes, Upper School Librarian and Media Specialist, Christ Church Episcopal School, Greenville, South Carolina

Andrew J. Cano, Open Education Librarian, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska

Kathy Carroll, School Librarian, Westwood High School, Blythewood, South Carolina

Katie Cerqua, Youth and Family Service Manager, Virginia Beach Public Library, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Peter D. Coyl, Library Director, Montclair (New Jersey) Public Library

Amber Creger, Youth Department Director, Schaumburg (Illinois) Township District Library

Lindsay Cronk, Head of Collection Strategies, University of Rochester, River Campus Libraries, Rochester, New York

Ana Elisa de Campos Salles, Senior Librarian, Palo Alto (California) City Library

Natalie DeJonghe, Technology Engagement Librarian, Oak Lawn (Illinois) Public Library

Kim DeNero-Ackroyd, Deputy Director, Cleveland Heights-University Heights (Ohio) Public Library

Cynthia Ellison Dottin, Fellow, Honors College, Florida International University, Miami, Florida

Maggie Farrell, Dean of University Libraries, University of Las Vegas, Nevada

Dr. George J. Fowler, University Librarian, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia

Erica Freudenberger, Outreach & Engagement Consultant, Southern Adirondack Library System, Saratoga Springs, New York

Kevin R. Garewal, Associate Director, Harvard Law School Library, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Debra Rhodes Gibson, Library Director, St. Johns County Public Library System, St. Augustine, Florida

Bitsy Griffin, School Librarian, Old Town Global Academy/Winston Salem (North Carolina) Forsyth County Schools

Michael A. Guttierrez, Head of Public Services, South Dakota State University, Brookings, South Dakota

Carl A. Harvey, II, Assistant Professor, Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia

April Hathcock, Scholarly Communications Librarian, New York University Libraries, New York, New York

Chris Hemingway, Circulation Librarian, Hagaman Memorial Library, East Haven, Connecticut

Holly Hibner, Adult and Teen Services Coordinator, Plymouth (Michigan) District Library

Shana Higgins, Interim Library Director, Library Instruction Coordinator, University of Redlands, Redlands, California

Shanna Hollich, Collection Management Librarian, Wilson College, Chambersburg, Pennsylvania

Andrea Q. Jamison, Diversity Fellow/Lecturer, Valparaiso (Indiana) University

Sara Kelly Johns, Online Adjunct Instructor, Syracuse University iSchool, Saranac Lake, New York

Lisa N. Johnston, Director of Library Services, Eckerd College, St. Petersburg, Florida

Jessica Jupitus, Public Services Manager, Sacramento (California) Public Library

kYmberly Keeton, Art Librarian, ART | library deco, Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebekah Kilzer, Director, Member Education, OCLC, Dublin, Ohio

LeRoy LaFleur, Associate Director, Ginn Library, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts

Amy Spence Lappin, Deputy Director, Lebanon (New Hampshire) Public Libraries

Maricar Laudato, Director of Library Services, Santa Margarita Catholic High School, Rancho Santa Margarita, California

Rodney Lippard, Director, Gregg-Graniteville Library, University of South Carolina - Aiken

Christin H. Lopez, Ed.D., School Library Media Specialist, William L. Dickinson High School, Jersey City, New Jersey

S. A. Mairson, Program Assistant, Syracuse (New York) School of Information

Willie Miller, Information and Journalism Librarian, IUPUI, Indianapolis, Indiana

Katheen Moeller-Peiffer, Deputy State Librarian, New Jersey State Library, Trenton, New Jersey

Louis Muñoz, Jr., Reference and ILL Librarian, Morristown (New Jersey) and Morris Township Library

Susan Mythen, Library and Learning Commons Manager, Jacksonville, Florida

Muzhgan Israfil Nazarova, Turkic Languages Librarian, Library of Congress ABA/ASME/ME, Washington, DC

L. Angie Ohler, Director of Collection Services, University of Maryland, College Park

Michelle V. Ornat, Assistant Director, Chesapeake (Virginia) Public Library

Eileen M. Palmer, Executive Director, Libraries of Middlesex Automation Consortium, Edison, New Jersey

Anchalee (Joy) Panigabutra-Roberts, Head of Cataloging, University of Tennessee Libraries, Knoxville, Tennessee

Scott Piepenburg, Head Cataloger, Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio, Texas

Sarah M. K. Potwin, Executive Library Director, Niagara Falls (New York) Public Library

Jana L. Prock, Library Director, Keller (Texas) Public Library

Brenda Pruitt-Annisette, Library Media Consultant & Researcher, AnnBroChi, LLC, Stone Mountain, Georgia

Nathan Putnam, Director, Metadata Quality, OCLC, Dublin, Ohio

Deborah Rinio, Non-Tenure Track Faculty Member, Montana State University, Bozeman, Montana

Daniel A. Sabol, Adjunct Librarian, Bronx Community College/Mercy College, Dobbs Ferry, New York

Romelia Salinas, Associate Dean, Library & Learning Resources, Mt. San Antonio College, Walnut, California

Jules Shore, Systems Librarian, Shore Library, Rockville, Maryland

Jon D. Solomon, Library Manager, Englewood (Colorado) Public Library

Nicole Spoor, Social Sciences and Education Librarian, University of North Carolina - Charlotte

Brenda S. Sprinkle, Elementary Librarian, Greendale Elementary School, Abingdon, Virginia

William “Bill” Suduth, Head, Government Information and Maps Department, University of South Carolina Libraries, Columbia

Ann K. Symons, Library Activist/Library Consultant Dermott O’Toole Memorial Library, Juneau, Alaska

William Thurston, Adult Services Librarian/Reference Librarian, Oswego Public Library District and Waubonsee Community College, Oswego, Montgomery, Aurora, and Sugar Grove, Illinois

Joyce Valenza, Assistant Professor of Teaching, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Erica Ann Watson, Adjunct Librarian and Teen Services Librarian, Berkley City College and Alameda County, Bay Area, California

Nancy J. Weiner, Assistant Director, Access & Information Services, Cheng Library – William Paterson University of New Jersey, Wayne, New Jersey

Don Welch, Manager, Learning Resource Center, Fortis College, Grand Prairie, Texas

Amber Williams, Managing Librarian: Strategic Initiatives, Spokane (Washington) County Library District

Individuals who are interested in running for ALA Council by petition may file petitions beginning on Wednesday, October 3, 2017. All petitions must be submitted by 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, December 5, 2018. Instructions for filing petitions can be found at .

Ballot mailing for the 2018 ALA election will begin on March 11, 2019 and will run through April 3, 2019 with the results being announced on Wednesday, April 10, 2019.  Individuals must be members in good standing as of January 31, 2019 in order to vote in the ALA election. Renew your membership online or by calling 1-800-545-2433, option 5.