2017 Cunha-Swartzburg Award to MetaArchive

For Immediate Release
Thu, 02/16/2017


Keri Cascio

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services


CHICAGO—The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) Jury for the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award has selected the MetaArchive Cooperative as the 2017 recipient. The award, sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge, will be presented during a ceremony at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in Chicago. The award includes a citation and a $1,250 monetary award.

Since its founding in 2004, MetaArchive has demonstrated leadership and initiative, building collaborative networks to preserve digital collections that capture the richness of our cultural heritage. A pioneer and leader in the pursuit of digital preservation, MetaArchive is a community-owned, community-led initiative comprising libraries, archives and other cultural memory organizations. They have proven resilient and continuously innovative in sustaining their highly successful collaborations in service of distributed digital preservation. One of the longest-standing partners of the LOCKSS (Lots of Copies Keep Stuff Safe) Program, MetaArchive now has more than sixty partners actively preserving digital content. The network spans the United States as well as South America and Europe, making it the first to bring cultural memory institutions together across national borders to accomplish preservation for digital collections.

The cooperative’s technical and organizational framework requires members to work together as a community and to collaborate. MetaArchive has demonstrated the value, feasibility and success of a distributed model for digital preservation. Further, it continues to evolve to address the varied needs of cultural heritage institutions to ensure that their digital collections and materials are preserved over the long term.

In recognizing MetaArchive, the Award Jury also recognizes digital preservation policy plays an integral role in library preservation programs, and it is part of a continuum of strategies in managing collections of lasting and enduring value.

Established in 2007, the award honors the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation. The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.