2011 ALA Youth Media Awards

ALA Youth Media Awards Emcees

2011 ALA Youth Media Award emcees holding this year's winning titles.
from left to right: Kimberly Patton, YALSA president, Julie Corsaro, ALSC president,
Roberta Stevens, ALA president; Chrystal Carr Jeter, Chair, Coretta Scott King Task Force;
and Lucia Gonzalez, president REFORMA

Each year the American Library Association (ALA) honors books and media for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media. The award announcements are made as part of the ALA Midwinter Meeting, held in 2011 at the San Diego Convention Center from January 7 to 11.


The American Library Association (ALA) will provided a free live Webcast of its Youth Media Awards. More than 10,000 online visitors viewed the Webcast the morning of the announcements.  Those interested in viewing an encore presentation please visit http://alawebcast.unikron.com/__view2011.php? . 

Press Releases

American Library Association announces youth media award winners

2011 Schneider Family Book Awards recipients named

2011 Batchelder Award honors Delacorte Press for “A Time of Miracles

“Almost Perfect” wins 2011 Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award

Author/Illustrator Tomie dePaola wins 2011 Wilder Award

Clare Vanderpool, Erin E. Stead win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith 2011 recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Practitioner Award for Lifetime Achievement

Eric Velasquez, Pam Muñoz Ryan win Pura Belpré Awards

“Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing” wins 2011 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Kate DiCamillo, Alison McGhee and Tony Fucile win Geisel Award for “Bink and Gollie”

Listening Library wins 2011 Odyssey Award for “The True Meaning of Smekday”

Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard win 2011 Carnegie Medal for “The Curious Garden”

Peter Sís to deliver 2012 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Rita Williams-Garcia, Bryan Collier win 2011 Coretta Scott King Book Awards

“Ship Breaker” Wins 2011 Printz Award

Sir Terry Pratchett wins 2011 Edwards Award

Sy Montgomery, Nic Bishop win 2011 Sibert Medal

“The Freak Observer” wins 2011 William C. Morris Award

YALSA announces 2011 Alex Awards

YALSA names 2011 William C. Morris Award shortlist  

YALSA announces 2011 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults shortlist

ALA adds GLBT youth literature award to prestigious Youth Media Award announcements