Four librarians selected to receive Penguin Young Readers Group Awar

Contact: Marsha P. Durrett

ALSC, Program Coordinator

(312) 280-2166
For Immediate Release

February 6, 2006

Four librarians selected to receive Penguin Young Readers Group Award

CHICAGO- Four librarians have been named winners of the 2006 Penguin Young Readers Group Award. Sponsored by Penguin Young Readers Group, Inc., the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), administers the award.

The recipients are: Bradley E. Debrick, Johnson County Library-Blue Valley Branch, Overland Park, Kan.; Holly Jin, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, Ill.; Roxanne Landin, Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn.; Joanna Ward, Temple City Library-County of Los Angeles, Los Angeles.

Each librarian will receive a $600 grant, donated by Penguin Young Readers Group, to attend the 2006 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans, June 22-28, 2006. Recipients of the annual award must have one to 10 years of experience as a children's librarian, work directly with children, and have never attended a ALA Annual Conference.

“It was very challenging to select four from this array of talented and productive librarians,” said Patti Gonzales, chair of the selection committee. The committee made their selections at the 2006 ALA Midwinter Meeting in San Antonio.

Members of the selection committee are: Patti Gonzales, chair, Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles; Beth Blankely, Alvin Sherman Library, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.; Juanita Foster, Rockford Road Library, Crystal, Minn.; Alison O'Reilly, Hauppauge Public Library, Hauppauge, N.Y.