The ALA Book Award Celebration

American Library Association Youth Media Awards


2021 YMA Book Award Celebrations 

Each year, the American Library Association honors books, videos, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, guide parents, educators, librarians, and others selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards are announced during ALA's Midwinter Meeting and encourage original and creative work in the field of children's and young adult literature and media.  

ALA Annual Conference Logo

YMA medalists and finalists are honored during the  ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition. This year's celebrations are virtual and will take place over select YouTube and Zoom platforms. Celebration schedules and information on how to join the festivities are listed below:  

Printz Logo
Printz Book Award Celebration
[URL Coming Soon]

View the recording of the 2021 Michael L. Printz Celebration! The virtual celebration took place on Michael L. Printz's Birthday, May 27th. The 2021 award-winning authors gave acceptance speeches followed by a Q&A! The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by Booklist magazine. Participating authors include Printz Award winner Daniel Nayeri, author of "Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story)." Award finalists Eric Gansworth, author of "Apple (Skin to the Core)," Gene Luen Yang author of "Dragon Hoops," color by Lark Pien, Candice Iloh author of "Every Body Looking," and Traci Chee author of "We Are Not Free" also appear. 



Friday, June 18, 2021, 2 p.m. ET
APALA Literature Award

APALA Youtube Channel 

The Virtual Recorded ceremony will be available for viewing at 11 a.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. ET, featuring acceptance speeches from 2021 APALA Literature Award winning authors and illustrators on the APALA Youtube Channel. At 12 p.m. PT / 3 p.m. ET, there will be a live chat with several winning authors.  

CSK Book Award Logo





Sunday, June 27, 10 a.m. – 11 a.m. CT
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Celebration

ALA YouTube Channel

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards celebrates their 52nd annual awards ceremony virtually! Join us as we celebrate the 2021 Book award winners with speeches from 2021 CSK Author Winner Jacqueline Woodson (Before the Ever After), 2021 CSK Illustrator Winner Frank Morrison (R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, The Queen of Soul), John Steptoe Award for New Talent Author winner Tracy Deonn (Legendborn), Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement Winner Dorothy Guthrie, and many more.

Belpre Medal Logo
 Sunday, June 27, 1 – 2:30 p.m. CT
 Pura Belpré Award 25th Anniversary Celebración
 ALA YouTube Channel 

Hear from recipients of the 2021 Pura Belpré Award, past recipients, and the award's founders at this ceremony. The Pura Belpré Award is co-sponsored by REFORMA, ALSC, and YALSA. This ceremony will premiere on Youtube.

Schneider Family Book Award Logo





Sunday, June 27, 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. CT
Schneider Author Event
Zoom [Registrion Required]

Join us for a Special Edition of the 2021 Schneider Family Book Award Authors honoring the 2021 winners. "I Talk Like a River," written by Jordan Scott, illustrated by Sydney Smith, best young children title; "Show Me a Sign" by Ann Clare LeZotte, best middle grades title; "This is My Brain in Love" written by I.W. Gregorio, best teen title; "All the Way to the Top: How One Girl's Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything," written by Annette Bay Pimentel, illustrated by Nabi H. Ali, and "Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin" written by Tracy Newman, illustrated by Abigail Halpin, Please visit our press release for a complete list of participants. 

Newbery Medal ImageCaldecott Medal Logo





Sunday, June 27, 7 – 8:15 p.m. CT
Newbery/Caldecott – Legacy Banquet
ALA YouTube Channel

Hear from the recipients of the 2021 Newbery, Caldecott, and Children's Literature Legacy Award Medals! Tae Keller, Michaela Goade, and Mildred D. Taylor will deliver acceptance remarks, and the Newbery and Caldecott Honorees will deliver brief messages. This event is free and open to the public via Youtube.

Association for Library Service to Children

Monday, June 28, 10-11 a.m. CT
ALSC Awards Ceremony
ALA YouTube Channel

Hear from the recipients of the 2021 Batchelder, Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media, Geisel, and Sibert Awards! Representatives from Enchanted Lion Books and Committee for Children, David LaRochelle, Mike Wohnoutka, Candace Fleming, and Eric Rohmann will deliver acceptance remarks, and all Honorees will deliver brief messages. This event is free and open to the public via Youtube.

Stonewall Award Image






Monday, June 28, 2 – 3 p.m. CT 
Stonewall Book Awards Celebration
ALA YouTube Channel

The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the queer experience. Come and hear from this year's winners on ALA's YouTube Channel! Follow along with the conversation on Twitter by using #StonewallBookAwards and #BookAwardsCelebration.




Tuesday, June 29, 11 a.m. ET 
Sydney Taylor Book Awards

Winning authors and illustrators will receive their awards at the Annual Conference of the Association of Jewish Libraries. Meet the Winners of the 2021 Sydney Taylor Book Awards: Lesléa Newman & Susan Gal (Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail), M. Evan Wolkenstein (Turtle Boy), and Tyler Feder (Dancing at the Pity Party). 


2021 celebrations and a look back on past celebrations