For immediate release | May 7, 2024

Nicole A. Cooke wins the Joseph W. Lippincott Award


CHICAGO – Dr. Nicole A. Cooke is the recipient of the 2024 Joseph W. Lippincott Award. This award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association (ALA) for distinguished service in the profession of librarianship.

The jury for the 2024 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is pleased to honor Cooke for her effective efforts in promulgating a new framework to ensure that librarians achieve expertise as culturally competent practitioners.

Cooke has been an effective advocate and innovator in enhancing and improving the diversity in the Library and Information Science (LIS) field particularly among Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) communities.

Cooke has edited and authored several books including Information Services to Diverse Populations, Foundations of Social Justice and Fake News and Alternative Facts: Information Literacy in a Post-Truth Era.

Cooke is the Augusta Baker Endowed Chair and a Professor at The School of Information Science, at the University of South Carolina. Cooke’s research and teaching interests include human information behavior, fake news consumption and resistance, critical cultural information studies, and diversity and social justice in librarianship.

Cooke was named a Mover & Shaker by “Library Journal” in 2007 and is the recipient of numerous honors including the 2016 ALA Equality Award, the 2017 ALA Achievement in Library Diversity Research Award (Office for Diversity and Literacy Outreach Services), the Illinois Library Association’s 2019 Intellectual Freedom Award in recognition of her work in combating online hate and bullying in LIS, and the 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award (Association for Library and Information Science Education). In 2021 she was presented with the Martin Luther King, Jr., Social Justice Award by the University of South Carolina.

The annual award, consisting of $ 1,500 and a citation of achievement, will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in San Diego in June 2024.

Members of the Joseph W. Lippincott Award Jury are Chair Winston Tabb, Sheridan Dean of University Libraries & Museums, Johns Hopkins University Sheridan Libraries; Sara Dallas, Director Southern Adirondack Library System; Barbara Ford, ALA Past President; Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. ALA Past President; Dr. Shali Zhang, Dean of Libraries, Auburn University.


Sheryl Reyes


Governance Office