For immediate release | April 8, 2024

Loida Garcia-Febo to receive ALA Medal of Excellence Award

CHICAGO — Loida Garcia-Febo, International Library Consultant, Brooklyn, New York has been awarded the ALA Medal of Excellence Award. This annual award, presented by the American Library Association (ALA) and sponsored by OCLC recognizes creative leadership of high order, particularly in the fields of library management, library training, cataloging and classification, and the tools and techniques of librarianship.

The jury for the 2024 Medal of Excellence award is excited to honor Garcia-Febo for her myriad accomplishments and efforts in support of libraries, both nationally and internationally. Jim Neal, chair of the 2024 Medal of Excellence Award committee said, “The award committee was so impressed with the sustained leadership of Loida across so many aspects of librarianship.”

Garcia-Febo’s accomplishments include many contributions to global and US librarianship, work over twenty years as an international consultant, library association service and elected positions including ALA, REFORMA and IFLA, advocacy for diversity, equity and inclusion, work on intellectual freedom including the board of the Freedom to Read Foundation, the development and delivery of professional development programs for library workers all over the world, her advocacy on health and wellness issues, her work with programs for new library professionals, and actions at the United Nations in support of its Sustainability Development Goals. Each of these areas of professional leadership has included a strong record of publications, conference and web presentations, and service on numerous library boards, task forces and committees.

The 2024 Medal of Excellence will be presented at the ALA President’s Program on Sunday, June 30, during the 2024 ALA Annual Conference in San Diego.

Members of the 2024 ALA Medal of Excellence Jury are: Chair Jim Neal, University Librarian Emeritus, Columbia University, New York, NY; Skip Dye, Senior Vice President, Library Marketing & Digital Sales and Sales Operations, Penguin Random House, Lewes, DE; Susan Earl, Director, The John P. Holt Brentwood Library, Brentwood, TN; Andrea Lapsley, President, Texas Library and Archives Foundation, Houston, TX; and Beth Libberton, Library Media Specialist, St. Charles East High School, Elgin, IL.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2025 ALA Medal of Excellence Award is February 1, 2025. Guidelines and forms are available on the ALA website.

About the American Library Association
The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit


Sheryl Reyes


Governance Office