For immediate release | April 15, 2024

Kordeliski Elected 2025-2026 AASL President

CHICAGO - The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) has announced the results of its 2024 election. Members elected Amanda Kordeliski, Director of Libraries and Instructional Technology for Norman Public Schools in Oklahoma, as the 2024-2025 President-Elect. She will serve as the AASL President during the 2025-2026 term and immediate Past President in 2026-2027.

"Thank you to all the school librarians who voted and participated in the recent ALA and AASL elections," said Kordeliski upon learning of the results. "Elections of our member leaders is such an important part of our association and I extend a deep thank you to all those willing to stand for election and everyone who used their vote as their voice for our association. I am honored beyond measure to be elected as AASL President-Elect and look forward to working within the AASL community to advocate for all school librarians and school libraries across the country. As a division of the American Library Association, AASL works collaboratively within the greater ALA organization and library ecosystem to increase understanding and promotion of the integral role of school librarians and school libraries for all learners."

Kordeliski said “While it is a stressful time to be a school librarian, I will listen to the needs of the school library community and work to support and advocate for all school libraries throughout my tenure on the board. I will continue to work toward AASL’s vision that every school librarian is a leader and every learner has a school librarian. There are so many great things happening in our school libraries and I want to highlight and celebrate the successes while continuing the work to resolve the issues and obstacles school librarians are experiencing. Thank you for sharing my passion for libraries, I am looking forward to working with the AASL board, staff, AASL Chapters, and sections over the next several years.”

Currently serving on the AASL Board of Directors as a director at large, Kordeliski has written for AASL’s Knowledge Quest and YALSA’s YALS journal. She is currently an active member of ALA Policy Corps, Unite Against Book Bans, and has served on a wide variety of AASL, ALA, and YALSA committees including co-chair of the AASL Practice Committee, the AASL/ISTE Standards Crosswalk, and the 2023 Printz Committee. Kordeliski is also a past chair of the school library division of the Oklahoma Library Association (OLA) and the OLA Advocacy committee.

The AASL ballot also included seven (7) amendments to the AASL Bylaws that were passed by the vote of the membership.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA) empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.


Sylvia Knight Norton

AASL Executive Director

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)