For immediate release | April 29, 2024

Carnegie Whitney Grant 2024 award winners

The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States.

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2024 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

  • Aisha Johnson and Nicole Cooke - Georgia Tech Library: "Sustainable Leadership as Solution for Representation and Inclusion in LIS: A Bibliography and Toolkit"
  • ALA - ALSC: "2024 Dia Booklists for Children (0-14)"
  • Brendan Fay - University of Southern Mississippi: "The Misinformation Crisis: A Resource List for Librarians and Educators"
  • Bryan Fuller and Renise Johnson - Morgan State University: "Annotated Bibliography of Early Afro-Diasporic Authors, 1573-1865"
  • Clayton Copeland - University of South Carolina: "A Resource Guide for Equitable Access to Information for Blind, Visually Impaired, and Print Disabled Students"
  • Julia Maxwell - Rutgers University: "Public Libraries and Older Adults: An Annotated Bibliography for Social Workers and Public Librarians"
  • LaVerne Gray and Ariana Cook: "From These Roots: Bibliography of African American genealogical resources and tools"
  • Sarah Whitney and Matthew Ciszek - Penn State Erie, The Behrend College: "Turning the Page on Silence: A Guide to YA Fiction and Upstanding Against Sexual Violence"
  • Tang Li - University of Southern California: "Sinophone Studies: An Annotated Bibliography"
  • Vanessa Kitzie - University of South Carolina: "Leveraging LIS Research Insights to Support LGBTQIA+ Communities"
  • Wan-Chen Lee - University of Wisconsin: "Ethical AI and Librarianship: A Resource Guide"

View the list of past award winners.

Applications for the next cycle must be received by November 1, 2024. Recipients will be notified by the end of February 2025.

Visit the ALA website for more information and guidelines or contact Mary Jo Bolduc, Grant Administrator, American Library Association at


Mary Jo Bolduc

Grant Administrator

American Library Association

ALA Publishing & Media