For immediate release | April 9, 2024

Brad Warren elected vice-president/president-elect

CHICAGO - Brad Warren, Dean of Libraries at Augusta University, has been elected ACRL Vice-President/President-Elect. Warren will become president-elect in July 2024 and assume the presidency in July 2025 for a one-year term.

Rachel M. Minkin, Interim Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning at Michigan State University, has been elected to the ACRL Board of Directors as Director-at-Large.

Carrie Forbes, Ph.D., University Librarian and Director of the School of Undergraduate Studies and the University Library at Southern Oregon University, has been elected to the ACRL Board of Directors as Director-at-Large.

Five proposed amendments to the ACRL Bylaws were adopted by the ACRL membership.

“I am ecstatic to be elected as the next Vice-President/President-Elect of ACRL! I want to thank the ACRL membership as well as the support of Augusta University, my colleagues, my mentors, and, most importantly, my family for their support and encouragement in enabling me to engage with ACRL in this new role,” Warren said. “I am looking forward to actively working with the Board, organization, and membership to support academic libraries and library workers at all levels. It is a true honor to have the chance to serve in this capacity!”

During his 15 years of ACRL membership, Warren has served as a member of the ACRL Standards Committee (2023-present), ACRL College and Research Libraries Editorial Board (2016-2023), co-chair, ACRL 2023 Conference Contributed Papers Committee (2021-2023), member, ACRL 2021 Conference, multiple committees (2019-2021), convener, ACRL ULS Public Services Directors of Large Research Libraries Discussion Group, (2021-2023) and founder, convener, and member of the ACRL Access Services Interest Group (2016-present).

“ACRL is delighted to have Brad Warren join the ACRL Board of Directors as Vice-President/President-Elect,” said ACRL Interim Executive Director Allison Payne. “Brad has a long history of service to ACRL, leading and participating in many membership groups. His knowledge of ACRL, academic librarianship and the broader higher education landscape, along with his leadership, will be valuable to the Board, as it continues to support the profession and advance the ACRL Plan for Excellence.”

Warren’s experience with ALA includes being a member of the ALA Committee on Organization (2020-2022). Warren has also served as a member of the LLAMA (now Core) Program Committee (2015-2018) and Public Relations and Marketing Section Swap and Shop Committee, (2008-2009).

Warren’s activity with state, regional, and other national associations include serving on the Regents Academic Committee on Libraries, University System of Georgia (executive committee member, 2022-present) and ARL Membership Engagement and Outreach Committee (member, 2021-2022). Warren also served on the Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education Library Council (member 2021-2022), OhioLINK Regional Depository Governing Council (member 2021-2022), Ivies+ Borrow Direct Policy Group (previous chair and member, 2014-2018) and the SOLINET Marketing Group (member, 2006-2007).

Warren’s honors and awards include the Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award (2016), Concertmaster, New London Community Orchestra (2016-2018), and part of the 1999-2000 inaugural class of the North Carolina State University Library fellowship program.

Other notable accomplishments for Warren include his role as the Inaugural Dean of Augusta University Libraries, where he created a new structure, secured a $1.1M increase to the budget, and completed a second phase renovation of Augusta University’s Greenblatt Library and facility and furniture refreshes of Reese Library in the first two years. Warren led the University of Cincinnati Libraries' Organizational Development initiatives and co-led all aspects of UC Libraries' planning and services in response to the COVID pandemic across 13 jurisdictional libraries. He also led the University of Cincinnati Langsam Library Living Room project to increase more diverse seating and collaborative options.

Additionally, Warren led the service redesign of the Yale Sterling Memorial Library Nave during its 2014 restoration project along with several reorganizations of Access Services operations and services. He also led multiple large-scale service and facilities projects at Yale University Libraries, requiring collaboration and consultation across multiple departments and unionized staff.

Warren founded the ACRL Access Services Interest Group and co-chaired development and completion of Framework for Access Services Librarianship in 2020.

His publications include co-author of Book Chapter with Cheryl McGrath: “Seizing the Opportunity for Innovation and Service Improvement.” The Library Innovation Toolkit: Ideas, Strategies and Programs. Ed. Anthony Molaro. Ed. Leah L. White. ALA Editions, (2015); Author: “Developing A Practical Approach to Change,” editorial, College and Research Libraries, v. 81, no. 1 (2020); Author of Book Chapter: "The ACRL Framework for Access Services Librarianship," Twenty-First-Century Access Services: On the Front Line of Academic Librarianship, Second Edition. Eds. Michael J. Krasulski, Trevor A. Dawes. ACRL, (2023).

For full 2024 ACRL election results, visit the election section of the ACRL website.


The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) is the higher education association for academic libraries and library workers. Representing more than 8,000 individuals and libraries, ACRL (a division of the American Library Association) develops programs, products, and services to help those working in academic and research libraries learn, innovate, and lead within the academic community. Founded in 1940, ACRL is committed to advancing learning, transforming scholarship, and creating diverse and inclusive communities. Find ACRL on the web, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, Threads, and YouTube.


David Free

Senior Communications and Membership Strategist

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)